History: Online: Indigenous history

Primary source documents pertaining to Native American history and life from 18th-20th centuries. Includes Dawes Packets, Eastern Cherokee Applications of the U.S. Court of Claims (1906-1909), Guion Miller Rolls, Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), Ratified Indian Treaties dating back to 1722, Records of the Cherokee Indian Agency in Tennessee (1801-1835),Series of Enrollment Cards (1898-1914), Rinehart's Native American photographs.

Primary source material pertaining to the political, social and cultural impact of the interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North America and European colonists from their earliest contact continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. Includes manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers and an interactive chronology.

Archives Unbound - American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism, 1968-1979. FBI files illustrate the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America contains a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.

Letters, diaries and memoirs of traders, slaves, missionaries, First Peoples and European groups dating from 1534-1850. Also includes prints, drawing, photographs and maps.

This collection contains two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies: the Meriam Report as well as the 41-part report to the U.S Senate Committee on Indian Affairs.

The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 consists of letters to and from the War Department, including many sent to the superintendent of Indian trade, Treasury Department officials and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department. Some letters were signed by department clerks or by the president.