History: Online: Africa, Asia, Oceania

This portal allows you to search in all our Adam Matthew databases at the same time .

Images from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection.

An open collection of materials for the study of South Asia.

An online network of resources on the region.

European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books written in English and French.

Maintained by UNESCO and the Library of Congress.

Digitized documents from the Qing Dynasty (in Chinese).

A multilingual collection of newspapers from Africa from 1800 to 1922. Countries represented are: Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sao Tomé and Principe, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors’ choices from the collection.

English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings.

Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters.

Spans the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and around the Cape of Good Hope in the south, the Berlin Conference which set off the ‘Scramble for Africa’, the high-water mark of economic exploitation of Africans in the Congo Free State, rivalries amongst European powers and the era of withdrawal that followed the Second World War.

A collection of the UK government documents issued between 1833 and 1969, covering all countries of mainland South and Central America as well as Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba. It includes correspondence, diplomatic dispatches, statistical tables, minutes, treaties, political summaries, economic analyses, annual reports and maps.

This collection, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, British Government, covers a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969 on countries including the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. Material type includes: reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries and economic analyses.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.

This resource, published in six parts, makes available the complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan during these decades.

Section I.

Section II.

Section III.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.

A collection of mostly Spanish language newspapers from South and North American dating from 1800 to 1922.

Papers of Edward S Morse (1838-1925), who was known for his work in bringing Japan and America closer together.