History: Online: North America and the Caribbean

Contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.

Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

The APS has one of the largest collections of primary source documents relating to early US history and Indigenous peoples.

Contains the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838.

Includes original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works, and ranges from 1722 to 1939, with the heaviest concentration from 1830 to 1939.

Click on the database to view its complete contents.

Black Thought and Culture contains 989 sources with 947 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.

The database contains two centuries of Britain's colonisation, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.

Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

An extensive collection of digitized primary and some secondary sources from galleries, historical societies, archives, museums and libraries in the US.

This database contains books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.

This database contains books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Letters and manuscripts from early or original language editions in English, French, German and Italian. Also included are scholarly annotations, and links to other online resources such as encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries etc.

The material reflects 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues in the United States, including religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

Correspondence of George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.

Content from the late 17th century to the middle of the 20th. Documents illustrate the history of Jewish communities in America, including Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.

Presents the Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) publications of all 47 states involved in the project, which ran from 1933 to 1943. Almost every aspect of life during the Great Depression is covered.

Secret White House tapes, presented with transcripts and analysis. Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations which are available on this site.

This project provides complete files from The National Archives, Kew for the entire period of the Nixon administration, 1969-1974. Many files focus on policy issues regarding the Vietnam War, China, the Soviet Union, Latin America, the EPA, and civil rights.

An ongoing project to catalogue and index American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence over centuries. Useful to researchers in history, sociology, literature, geneaology, women’s studies and related fields.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

This is the first installment of what will be a complete online edition of the presidential recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson and contains nearly 400 secret conversations (July 1964 - July 1965).

The PRDH data base includes some 2 400 000 certificates of various types, dated from 1621 to 1849. The vast majority are records of baptisms, marriages, and burials from the parishes, missions, and Catholic institutions in Quebec that kept registers before 1850.

Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

(uOttawa resource)

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

This resource assembles hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

This is a subject based repository, covering the American Civil War. Special items include: census records, newspapers, letters and diaries.

Electronic collection of rare books, ephemera and visual material relating to the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, American and Europe in the 19th and early 20th centuries. From big tops to carnivals, fairgrounds and dime museums, the collection covers the history of popular shows and exhibitions from both audience and professional perspectives.

The collection began as a business archive, consisting of papers of Nicholas Ferrar (d.1620) and those of the Virginia Company of London and its subordinate, the Somer Islands Company. Few of old Nicholas's papers survive, but there are over five hundred items from the days of the Virginia Company. They are to be found among the Ferrar Papers because from 1619 until the company's dissolution in 1624 two of old Nicholas's sons – John (1619-22) and Nicholas (1622-24) – held in succession the office of Deputy and conducted the company's daily business from the family's home on St Sithes Lane in the City.

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images.

The researcher can study themes such as the day-to-day life in wartime hospitals, women's activities in Canada, Australia, South Africa and other regions of the world, as well as the numerous accounts of hardship, heroism and loyalty.

The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath.

This tool allows searching across all archival holdings by Adam Matthew, a company that specializes in digital archives. The University of Ottawa has access to good collections of archival material in Indigenous peoples' histories and womens' histories, in addition to other subjects.