History: Online: Border and Migration

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. The collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.

The news and analysis in this collection comes from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA . This fully searchable digital archive includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more.

Migration to New Worlds tells the stories of individuals and families who risked everything to build new lives in North America and Australasia between 1800 and 1980. The database contains unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals that narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands, as well as organisational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles.

This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand and learn about existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.

Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and to Canada. Includes more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories and several thousand pages of oral history interviews from Ellis Island.