Online: Continental Europe - History - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Archives online

Archives Portal Europe
The Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.

Continental Europe

Acta Pacis Westphalicae (Peace of Westphalia)
This website offers the latin text of the Acta Pacis Westphalicae (Peace of Westphalia), alongside several English translations. The site is searchable.

Cold War Eastern Europe, 1947-1982 » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Over 1.4 million pages from the British Foreign office about the Eastern Bloc during the post-Stalin era, through thousands of English-language insights written in the first person by officials of the time.

Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
This collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the materials are letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes personal effects; paper currency and items such as the Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France
This collection covers the controversy from Dreyfus' arrest and incarceration from 1894 to 1908. Comprising over 1,000 volumes, the collection contains all the well-known Dreyfus publications, such as Zola's 1898 newspaper article "J'accuse," as well as rarely seen archival materials.
Early European Books
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full colour, high resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Electronic enlightenment
letters and manuscripts from early or original language editions in English, French, German and Italian. Also included are scholarly annotations, and links to other online resources such as encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries etc.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.
French Revolution Digital Archive A collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France
The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.

Gallica Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France offers free access to 70,000 digitized works, more than 80,000 images and many audio resources from the Middle Ages to the beginning of the 20th c.

German Anti- Semitic Propaganda 1909-1941
This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.
Gerritsen Collection for Women's History
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Holocaust and Records of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
Provides unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel.
Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
Documents from a wide variety of sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities.
Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S. Zone(Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949.
Newspapers of the French Revolution
This French-language collection of newspapers and other periodicals published in France during the Revolution is pulled from the British Library’s holdings. Coverage continues through the coup d’état in 1851 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852.
Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution
Digital collection of pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution of 1848 held by Center for Research Libraries.
Patriots to arms! : the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945
Documents regarding propaganda activities are highlighted extensively in Patriotes aux Armes!: The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945. This collection includes a range of primary source documents for research in European Studies, World War II Studies, Military History, International Affairs, Political Studies, Conflict Studies, and French Studies.
RetroNews
RetroNews, the historical print media site of the National Library of France, offers digital access to more than 1000 newspaper and magazines. Users must create an account to view the full text.
La Révolution et l'Empire
This is a collection of 155 works on the history and historiography of the French Revolution.
Testaments to the Holocaust: Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London
This database builds a history through people’s testimonies, family narratives and the documents of the activities of the Nazi regime.
Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy
Offering a fuller picture of the basis on which many key political decisions were made in Britain about the conduct of the war in France, this French-language collection sheds new light on a much-studied period.

World War II Archives » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
World War II Archives contains over half a million pages of original historical documents compiled from collections at the National Archives (in the US), offering a wide range of materials chronicling events during the Second World War, providing an in-depth perspective of military activities while also documenting the lives of individual military personnel on land, in the air and at sea.
World’s Fairs » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Over 200 world’s fairs and exhibitions are included (1829-2015).

Visual History Archives

The Visual History Archives is one of the activities of the University of Southern California (USC) Shoah Foundation. It is one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: nearly 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages and from 56 countries preserving the testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The University of Ottawa is extremely pleased to offer the full archive to students and researchers.

Please note that a login is required to view this resource from campus only; off campus access is not permitted.

History: Online: Continental Europe

Archives online

Continental Europe

Visual History Archives