History: Fur Trade Resources

Biographies of Canadians who died between the years 1000 and 1930.

The Early Canadiana Online collection of rare books, magazines and government publications has over 80,000 titles (3,500,000 pages) and is growing. The collection includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first four decades of the 20th Century.

This is the transcript of the PBS production focused on the history of the Hudson's Bay Company.

Online maps (available in high resolution) related to Canada's history.

In four sections (Trading, Getting Around, Settling Down and Taking Care of Business), this resource contains links to a few online primary sources.

This is a scholarly research site which illustrates and documents, in part, the heroic age of the fur trade in Canada by examining the exploits of the North West Company and other Montreal-based fur trading companies at the end of the eighteenth and the beginning of the nineteenth century. Includes a bibliography of primary and secondary works.

his website contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of many of these items.
**Includes books, postcards, newspapers, and maps.

Online report on the history of Voyageurs Park in Northern Minnesota, organized into four sections:
1) Chronological overview of the fur trade in the Rainy Lake Region;
2) Fur trade experience based on primary sources;
3) Material culture of the fur trade;
4) Environmental conditions in the fur trade era.

A brief list of links to online primary sources for the study of the fur trade in the area known as St. Rupert's Land (ca. 1670-1870)

The Voyageur Database includes data from approximately 35,900 fur trade contracts signed in front of Montreal notaries between 1714 and 1830. It is currently the single largest collection of data regarding the contracts signed by men of the Montreal fur trade.