Microfilm / fiche - History - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Micro collections available from CRL

The Center for Research Libraries preserves important scholarly projects, including those listed below. Search CRL's online catalogue for a complete listing of microform that are available to borrow through the University of Ottawa's membership in CRL.

Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP)
The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP), founded in 1963, is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa. CAMP also aims to make these materials in microform available to researchers.
Latin American Microform Project (LAMP)
LAMP (formerly known as the Latin American Microform Project) acquires, preserves, and maintains microform collections of unique, rare, and bulky or voluminous Latin American research materials for its subscribers. The project emphasizes original filming, though it may also purchase existing microfilm. The project bases its activities on annual subscription fees, plus outside resources including grant funds.
Middle East Microform Project (MEMP)
The Middle East Microform Project (MEMP) preserves on microform unique, rare, hard to obtain, and often expensive research material for Middle East studies. It also preserves deteriorating printed and manuscript scholarly materials.

The geographic scope of MEMP coverage includes Arab countries--Israel, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Central Asia--and related areas not covered by other cooperative microform projects.
South Asia Microform Project (SAMP)
23,000+ scholarly publications, newspapers, and government documents. Cooperation with national archives and libraries such as the British Library, the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, and the Library of Congress Field Offices in South Asia helped build a collection including reports from the British East India Company, journals of scholarly societies, personal papers of researchers, pamphlets, and posters. 19th c. Hindi, Urdu, and Panjabi titles and rare land settlement reports included.
South East Asia Microform Project (SEAM)
SEAM’s holdings include historic newspaper sets and manuscript collections filmed in Southeast Asia. SEAM has cooperated with the Ford Foundation in sponsoring several significant manuscript projects in Indonesia, such as the manuscript collections in the Palace and the Sonobuduyo Museum in Yogyakarta, the Faculty of Letter of the University of Indonesia, and the National Library of Indonesia as well as projects to film scattered manuscript collections in West Java (Sunda) and in South Sulawes
Slavic and East European Microform Project (SEEMP)
SEEMP has focused the majority of its attention on acquiring and filming regional newspapers, both contemporary and historical. SEEMP has also filmed a collection of books, periodicals, and pamphlets produced and published by Ukrainian Displaced Persons. Another collection of note includes rare and unique pamphlets (1925–40) in the Yakut, Kumyk, and Chuvash languages of the former Soviet Union.

Microform collections (available in the library only)

The micro collections below are all retrievable through the library catalogue. Morisset library has digital microform scanners which save you from having to print from microform. You can images directly to your USB key!

If you are seeking Canadian primary sources, try searching for the series CIHM (Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions). These were documents that were held in the National Library of Canada (at the time) and were microfilmed for preservation and access.

Papers of the St. Louis fur trade
pt.1. Chouteau collection, 1752-1925 (40 reels) -- pt.2. Fur company ledgers and account books, 1802-1871 (23 reels) -- pt.3. Robert Campbell Family Collection from the St. Louis Mercantile Library Association (30 reels).
Papers of the Pierre Menard collection in the Illinois State Historical Library
Personal and business correspondence, records, legal documents and ledgers. Includes personal letters to and from family members and correspondence with business associates concerning subjects such as Indian affairs and the fur trade. Includes records relating to the companies Tardiveau Audrain and Company, Menard and Valle, Bryan and Morrison, Burr and Christy and the American Fur Company. The papers of Barthelemi Tardiveau, a Mississippi River Valley merchant, and the estate papers of Pierre Menard and Antoine Bienvenu are included.
Gaidoz Folklore Collection
The Henri Gaidoz Folklore Collection offers a rare opportunity to view the activity of Folklore Studies in 19th and early 20th centuries. The material was collected by M. Henri Gaidoz (1842-1932), a philologist and scholar of Celtic studies, and an expert in archaeology, religion, and mythology. Search the keywords Henry Gaidoz Folklore Collection in the catalogue to see the individual microfilms.
[+][-]
To see all 6,387 items in this collection, search "Gaidoz folklore microfiche collection" in the Advanced search in Omni.
Church Missionary Society archive, Section V
Reproduces papers of the Church Missionary Society held at the CMS Headquarters in London and the University of Birmingham Library; includes books of correspondence, reports, records, applications, journals, and minutes.
Papers of Henry Hastings Sibley fur trader, politician, and general
These papers -- correspondence, financial records, legal papers, speeches, and miscellany -- recount the varied life of this explorer, fur trader, businessman, politician, and general. Many of the papers concern the fur trade with the Dakota Indians of the Upper Mississippi Valley from 1815 to 1855. They document Sibley's business association with the American Fur Company and its successor, Pierre Chouteau, Jr., and Company ; as well as his interest in the treaties, wars, and welfare of the Dakota.
Lawrence Taliaferro papers, 1813-1868
The manuscripts of Lawrence Taliaferro include correspondence and miscellaneous
papers (1813-68). A few of the papers relate to the War of 1812 and Taliaferro's experiences in the army between 1813 and 1819. The bulk of the collection documents his career as United States Indian agent from 1820 to 1839 at the St. Peters Agency near Fort Snelling in present-day Minnesota. The papers also discuss the Sioux and Metis population in the Prairie du Chien, WI area
Western Americana frontier history of the Trans-Mississippi West, 1550-1900
Assembled in cooperation with the Yale University Library and the Newberry Library, this collection contains the basic printed sources for the exploration, settlement and development of the Trans-Mississippi West. It spans the years from 1550 to 1900; that is, from the first explorations down to the end of the frontier. Geographically it covers the region from the Spanish borderlands on the south to the Arctic Ocean on the north; from the Mississippi Valley and Hudson’s Bay on the east to the Pacific Ocean and Bering Straits on the west.

History: Microfilm / fiche

Micro collections available from CRL

Microform collections (available in the library only)