History: Online: UK

East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

Empire Online contains 5 different collections of primary material concerning the history of various empires. The collections are: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Literature and Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion and Empire, Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c1607-2007.

EHD is the full text digital version of the print source of the same title. Its stated purpose is to preserve and offer access to the most important British historical documents. The date range of the 5,500 primary documents is 500–1914, and the collection includes British (English, Welsh, and Scottish) materials, for example “treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, diaries and more.” The content has been indexed by experts at the Institute of Historical Research, who used precise historical subject headings to allow for precise searching. Valuable for history students and faculty seeking primary documents relevant to British history.

Provides rich primary sources on daily life in the army and auxiliary services, trench warfare, food and supplies, battles and warfare, training and discipline, weapons and equipment, camaraderie and friendship, death, health and medicine, thoughts on the enemy.

The selection of primary sources covers many important themes such as recruitment and training, morale at home and on the front line, development of different forms of propaganda, efforts to control public opinion through censorship, potential impact of mutinies and revolution, dissension.

It provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration, with some 30,000 images of original document.

The RCP archives contain an eclectic range of 14th- to 19th-century manuscripts. Personal papers of past fellows from the 16th century to the 20th century provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians.