Note: Ressource en français - French resource

Vous cherchez des traductions de tests ou d'évaluation ?? You are looking for translation of tests or assessments ??

APA PsycTESTS : est une bonne base pour commencer. Elle contient des traductions dans plusieurs langues, dont certaines en français. / PsycTESTS is the right place to start, it provides translations of tests and assessments. Some in French.

ScienceDirect : pour trouver des traductions et adaptation en français de tests, évaluations et même de lignes directrices. Faites votre recherche en cherchant simplement : traduction francaise / If you are looking for French translation of guidelines, tests, questionaires, etc... connect to ScienceDirect and search simply traduction francaise

Research tips to find French resources in databases

• Identify french databases: ex: Erudit, Cairn, Persée...
  • Search by using French terms (subjects/ keywords).
  • If you use Boolean operators in your search, verify if they are in French (ET, OU, SAUF) in the database  or in English (AND, OR, NOT)

• Identify English databases for your speciality.  Here is a short procedure on how to find French articles in an English database.
  • Start your search by using English terms (subjects/ keywords).
  • Once your search is done, apply the language filter French / Français.
    • If French/Français doesn’t appear in the language filter, it means that there are no French article for your search term.
  • Restart your search, but this time, use French terms (subjects/keywords) to make sure that you haven’t missed any articles. 

• Even if some databases offer a French interface, we recommend that you use the English one as there are often some translation errors, which make searching more difficult.
• Even if you are searching in French, always use Boolean operators in English (AND, OR, NOT).

Feel free to contact your librarian for training and help !!

J'ai de temps en temps des questions sur les termes ou façons de chercher les articles sur les francophones au Canada. Voici ici quelques idées pour débuter vos recherches dans les bases de données traditionnelles comme Medline, CINAHL, Embase etc... / Here some ideas how to search for French population-speaker in our databases:

Commentaires sur les recherches / Comments on searches:

• en général il n'existe pas de MeSH ou Subject Headings pour ce concept de Francophones/French Canadian
• Canada est en revanche disponible comme concept dans beaucoup de bases de données (Medline, CINAHL, ) ex.
  • EXP Canada/ dans Medline/PubMed  couvre Canada, les provinces et les territoires. Même approche avec CINALH, PsycInfo...
  • Pour avoir plus d'information sur les filtres décrivant le Canada, référez-vous aux filtres proposés par la Bibliothèque de l'Université de l'Alberta 
• Notez que le filtre French proposé dans certaines bases est un filtre de langue de document et non de population.   

Comme toujours, les recherches seront faites en fonction de la question et de la persective à développer / But, as always,  it depends on what you’re trying to identify 😊 Here some ideas to tweak the search above:

• Recherche de base combinant des Keywords et des Subject Headings / Basic search combining Keywords and Subject Headings ex.:
  • (franco* OR French ) AND (exp Canada/ or (Canad* OR  "British Columbia"  OR  "Colombie Britannique"  OR  Alberta*  OR  Saskatchewan  OR  Manitoba*  OR  Ontario  OR  Quebec  OR  "Nouveau Brunswick"  OR "New Brunswick" OR  "Nova Scotia"  OR  "Nouvelle Ecosse"  OR  "Prince Edward Island"  OR  Newfoundland  OR  Labrador  OR  Nunavut  OR  NWT  OR  "Northwest Territories"  OR  Yukon  OR  Nunavik   OR  Inuvialuit))

• Voulez-vous intégrer les centres urbains ou les villes ?? / Do you need to include also the major cities of the country ? ex.:
  • Yellowknife OR Halifax OR Toronto OR Ottawa OR Quebec OR Montreal* OR Vancouver OR etc…

• Cherchez-vous aussi les personnes ? / Do you need to include the “people” ??  ex.:
  • Quebe* OR ontarian* OR "Nova Scotia*"  OR manitob* OR  "British Columbia*" OR etc…

• Travaillez-vous sur les francophones comme minorité linguistique ? / Do you want to identify the French minorities ?? In this specific case, I used this approach:
  • (francophon* or (french adj/near (lang*  or group* or minorit* or identit* or speak* or communit* or population)))

Bonnes recherches 😊

Ressources en français !!

iAnatomie.ca est conçu pour aider les étudiants francophones de la Faculté de médecine de l'Université d'Ottawa avec leurs cours d'anatomie clinique.

Des animations 3D pour faciliter l'apprentissage et l'enseignement de l'anatomie.

Vidéos HD en accès libre et sans publicité Réalisation : Université Lyon 1, service iCAP Vidéos projetées en cours magistral pour des formations paramédicales et en sciences du sport.

Cours et documents d'Éducation libre, en français de l'Université Catholique de Louvain. Belle collection de qualité.  Médecine et Santé : même si les titres de la page de recherche sont en anglais, le matériel est en français.

*** Nouveau **** New ****

Nouvelles resssources d'éducation pour les francophones et francophiles:

• FR = https://www.afmc.ca/fr/resources-data/education/franco-doc/
• EN = https://www.afmc.ca/resources-data/education/franco-doc/

Explorez les balados et les séminaires proposés par des médecins

*********************

   Besoin de cours de support pour apprendre et pratiquer  la grammaire ? Need support to learn and practice French grammar ??

Consultez: Grammaire Ouverte (https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/grammaire-ouverte ): "Grammaire Ouverte est une grammaire pédagogique du français destinée aux apprenants de niveau avancé. Ce texte est approprié pour ceux qui sont au niveau intermédiaire ou avancé selon la hiérarchie de compétence proposée par ACTFL".

The databases proposed here contain mainly French langage informations.

The acces to the databases is free. BUT all the articles and document are not necessarily. Please use the uO resources collection to obtain the restricted documents.

Resources to explore :

Need a break ??  Looking for some music or video ??

Explore the new Virtual Care Package prepared by the Library

This online guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license. This guide is attributed to Marie-Cécile Domecq

If you have questions, or if you run into problems that the guide does not address, please e-mail Marie-Cécile Domecq at mdomecq@uottawa.ca