Tips and Docs - French resources in Health Sciences - Guides de recherche

Nouveautés / New materials

Bonne rentrée !!

Voici quelques nouveautés qui vous aideront très certainement avec vos futurs travaux / Here some new documents that will help you, for sure, with your assignments to come !

	Didacticiel sur le style de citation MLA (9e éd.) Téa Rokolj, Paul-Cezar Tanase, Jolene Hurtubise Bibliothèque de l'Université d'Ottawa; 2022 Français
	Didacticiel du style de citation Chicago Manual of Style, 17e Édition (méthode auteur-date) Catherine Lachaine; Jennifer Dekker; and Ann Hemingway Bibliothèque de l'Université d'Ottawa; 2022 Français
	Didacticiel du style de citation Chicago Manual of style 17e édition (Méthode notes et bibliographie) Catherine Lachaine; Jennifer Dekker; and Ann Hemingway Bibliothèque de l'Université d'Ottawa; 2022 Français
	APA Style Citation Tutorial Sarah Adams, Debbie Feisst University of Alberta Library; 2021 Language: English
	Didacticiel du style de citation APA Sarah Adams, Debbie Feisst University of Alberta Library ; 2021 French (Canada)

Basis of scientific searches

Using Search Fields: Free-text versus Thesaurus searching
Boolean Logic and Special Characters The MUST have for database search strategy translation.
Medline vs Pubmed To understand the differences and use efficiently these medical databases.
PICO
Concept Search worksheet

Tutorials from your Healh sciences librarians: Short video to improve your search skills.

PICO Practice - Smoking Cessation

Scoping Review or Systematic Review ??

uOttawa-SearchTranslationTool
*** NEW ****
To help you in the translation of database search strategies.
SR versus Literature Reviews
Are you really doing a systematic review ??
Inventory of your searches (Word doc) Inventory of the searches done for your project (databases and grey lit)
Inventory of your searches (excel doc) Inventory of the searches done for your project (databases and grey lit)
Databases search strategies (word doc) Table to record and annotate the db search strategies used for a review.
Keep track of your search strategies (excel doc) Xcel document to record and annotate the db search strategies used for a review.
Update your search results with date
*** The MUST have for the creation of date limits in database search strategies

If you need more information on synthesis reviews, the steps to follow, the tools available, etc... consult the guide for Systematic Review

And don't forget to open your account on Covidence

Libguide for Covidence

Introduction to the New PUBMED

PubMed has changed !! A series of video clips that will teach you how to use the new PubMed :

Tools to navigate the literature ?

Understand the Tools for literature

Citations ? References ? Bibliographies ?

Citation Style

Citing could be tricky ! Please take a look on these resources to understand/learn how to cite:

Research for Essay Writing in English: Citing your sources (APA, MLA, Chicago)
Research for Technical Report Writing: Citing your sources (APA, MLA)
For French adaptation of citations style, consult "Recherche pour rédaction des travaux universitaires en français" : Citer vos sources (APA, MLA, Chicago et Francisation...)

Citation Managers: your student life savers !!

See the libguide Citation Management for overview of the products. These documents give you step-by-step instructions to the main functions of various citation managers, such as: Creating an account; Creating folders; Exporting references; Removing duplicates; Creating a bibliography and more...

How to use Zotero

About this libguide...

This online guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license. This guide is attributed to Marie-Cécile Domecq

The page Self-Leaning Video is attributed to Karine Fournier under the licence CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

If you have questions, or if you run into problems that the guide does not address, please e-mail Marie-Cécile Domecq at mdomecq@uottawa.ca