Financial Research and Learning Lab

The Bloomberg Terminal is a powerful multi-functional tool used by over 300,000 finance professionals in 170+ countries. It is an interactive network providing coverage on every major asset class, most publicly traded securities, industries, economies and more. It provides real-time news, data, analytics, research, and business intelligence among other things all in a single platform.

(Access instructions here)

Capital IQ is a platform offered by the research division of S&P Global Ratings, an American credit rating agency. This platform combines deep and broad global financial intelligence with an array of tools for analysis, ideation, and efficiency. S&P Capital IQ includes company financials, relationships among firms and people, biographical and contact data, transactions, events, securities data, ownership, brokerage estimates, corporate governance, regulatory filings, and news on private and public companies.

(Access instructions here)

The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) summary information database (or CFMRC TSX database for short) includes daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) trading information about specific securities as well as information on "price adjustments" such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc. The database also includes daily and monthly indexes containing information on daily and monthly index levels as well as selected other financial markets information. Daily data starts from January 1975 and monthly data from January 1950. For more information on data available with CFMRC TSX please visit the CHASS website.

In-Person & Online Access:

• This database is accessible on campus from any computer lab, including the Financial Research and Learning Lab (DMS2186), using this portal.
• CFMRC/TSX database is also accessible through the remote lab and sessions are limited to 90 minutes.

N.B. CFMRC/TSX may only be used for non-commercial research purposes.

(Access link here)

This scholarly business database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content (more than 2,800 journals), with indexing and abstracts (more than 3,700 journals) for the most important business journals. Additional materials include country economic reports, financial data, conference proceedings, investment research reports, market research reports, case studies company profiles, SWOT analyses and industry reports.

(Access instructions here)

Over 6,000 Canadian and foreign newspapers, magazines and reports; most full text.

(Access instructions here)

Factset is a platform with an easy intuitive interface for research that combines many different sources of analytics and data in order to facilitate monitoring of companies, global markets, and equity or fixed income securities.

(Access instructions here)

Haver Analytics is a portal for all historical time series data for macroeconomic research and analysis. The database contains both annual economic statistics and daily market information. Data that can be obtained through the University of Ottawa's licenses include data for Canada and the U.S., G10+ Countries and emerging market countries. For more information, please visit the Haver Analytics website.

(Access instructions here)

IBISWorld provides hundreds of in-depth Canadian, U.S. and Global industry market research and business environment reports.

(Access instructions here)

NRG Metrics is the creation of a team of market professionals and academic researchers in the field of corporate governance.  It offers the following 8 datasets: Corporate Governance, Ownership Structure, Directors & Officers, Family Firms, Compensation, Audit , CSR & Voting Results.  For access to the NRG Metrics platform, please contact finlab@uottawa.ca.

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform. Analyses industry trend data, market sizes and market shares from countries around the world. Contains long historic and forecast data series, and allows for comparison of data across countries.

(Access instructions here)

PitchBook offers access to public and private markets data on market intelligence, business development, due diligence, deal execution, deal sourcing, fundraising, etc.

(Access instructions here)

Eikon | Refinitiv is an open-technology solution for financial markets professionals, providing access to industry-leading data, insights, and exclusive and trusted news.

Datastream is used to identify trends, generate and test hypotheses, and develop viewpoints and research. Loaded with 70 years of information, Datastream is a comprehensive financial time series database.

Securities Data Company (SDC) Platinum is a historical financial transactions database maintained by Refinitiv (formerly Thomson Reuters). It provides the most detailed financial transaction information available on new issues, M&A, bonds, syndicated loans, private equity, project finance, poison pills and many more.

Rotman Interactive Trader (RIT) application is an order-driven market simulator (which allows users to transact financial securities with each other on a real-time basis) plus a sequence of RIT cases. Each RIT case focuses on the risks and opportunities associated with particular securities or strategies. For more detailed description of RIT, how it works, and the learning objectives of the application please visit the RIT Welcome Page.

To see how RIT works you can access the Demo which runs 24/7. Please visit the RIT Website for more information on the software and its capabilities.

In-Person Access:

• The RIT Client is accessible on all computer terminals located in the Financial Research and Learning Lab (DMS2186).
• It is also available in the following DMS computer labs: DMS2130, DMS2140, DMS2150.
• When logging in:
  • Use IP: rit.telfer.uottawa.ca
  • Please email us at finlab for information on active cases and assigned port numbers.

(Access instructions here)

An online statistics, market research, and business intelligence portal. Provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German and Spanish. Includes over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks, and consumer market outlooks.

(Access instructions here)

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a web-based service that was developed by The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Its an industry standard business research database for information on accounting, stocks, bonds, loans, banking, insurance, real estate, economics, marketing statistics and more. It allows for easy standardized searches of this information in its easy to use portal. Many databases feed into WRDS including Compustat and CRSP. It's one of the most well respected resources for Professors and Master's students conducting any sort of financial research and writing major papers.

Databases Feeding into WRDS:

(Access instructions here)

• BoardEx: Provides access to educational background, prior employment, and connections of directors and executives. Users can analyze the proportion of politically connected directors, using CEO-level controls such as age, gender, and experience as well as extract executive stock option holdings.
• Capital IQ Key Developments Feed: Provides structured summaries of material news and events that may affect the market value of securities. It monitors 100+ Key Development types including executive changes, M&A rumors, changes in corporate guidance, delayed filings, SEC inquiries, and many more.
• Compustat: Provides financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world to facilitate historical research and analysis. The service began in 1962. The data comes standardized and thus permits easy comparisons for all data whether it be company, industry or business cycle analysis. Please visit this link for more information.
• Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP): Provides comprehensive historical data for securities on the NYSE (from 1926), AMEX (from 1962) and NASDAQ (from 1972) exchanges. Information includes security prices, return, and volume data, market capitalization, security delisting information, corporate actions, shares outstanding, and more.
• ExecuComp: Tracks executive compensation in S&P 1,000 firms. This includes top executives' salary, bonus, and stock option data since 1992. The database also has company-specific financial statement information to supplement the compensation data.
• IBES Earnings Estimates: Contains historical earnings analyst estimates for more than 20 forecast measures. These include EPS (earnings per share), revenue, price targets, EBITDA and pre-tax profits which are available on both consensus and detailed levels for U.S. and international companies.  The database also includes buy/hold/sell recommendations.
• Ideagen Audit Analytics: Composed of ten (10) data modules, it covers all SEC registrants. It is used by researchers around the world for market intelligence, due diligence, compliance monitoring and trend analysis. Please visit this link to learn more.
• Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS): Covers the S&P 1,500 companies and provides a range of variables related to board directors, including name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, primary employer and title. The database also contains governance data such as the following variables: classified boards, cumulative voting, golden parachutes, poison pills, and state takeover laws.
• MSCI ESG KLD STATS: Developed and maintained by MSCI Inc., currently available in WRDS are the annual data set of social performance indicators applied to a universe of publicly traded companies.
  • The uOttawa Library also has access to the MSCI ESG KLD STATS time series.  To request these time series, contact the Data Services Team.
• Thomson-Reuters 13F Filings: Formerly known as CDA/Spectrum 3 4 database, provides Institutional common stock holdings and transactions, as reported on Form 13F filed with the SEC, for institutional investors such as mutual funds, banks, corporations, & others. The 13F is filed within 45 days of the end of each quarter of the fiscal year.
• WRDS Daily Event Study: Provides a visualization of the effect of events on stock return of U.S. and other global (48 countries) equities. This allows for the extraction of detailed back-end data for analysis, and access to in-depth documentation on the methodology used. Charts are available on Mean Cumulative Returns with significance intervals, mean Cumulative Total Returns (CTRs), mean Cumulative Abnormal (CARs) and mean BHARs.
• WRDS SEC Analytics Suit with Sentiment & Readability Data: Allows users to develop tailored datasets from all SEC filings, parsing millions of regulatory reports based on custom criteria.  The ready-to-use parsed contents and filings archives are updated daily, allowing users to quickly explore data and effectively retrieve widely-used information.