Available Online
International law : doctrine, practice, and theory by Publication Date: Toronto : Irwin Law, 2014
Key Resources
- CanLIICanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.
- HeinOnlineDigital archives of legal information consisting of several full-text collections : The Law Library Journal - over 400 legal scholarly journals.
- La référence (REJB/DCL)The Barreau du Québec French only databases are available to Faculty of Law students and professors.
- Lexis Advance QuicklawOnline collection of court and tribunal decisions, legislation, exclusive current awareness sources, expert commentary, and legal news.
- Soquij-Recherche juridique (Azimut)SOQUIJ publishes decisions from the judicial and administrative tribunals of the Province of Québec.
- WestlawNext CanadaWestlawNext Canada is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of U.S. and International material (Westlaw International) and Canadian material (LawSource).
GETTING STARTED > Reference Documents
What is International Law?
The following definitions of international law are cited from the legal dictionaries and encyclopedias available at the Brian Dickson Law Library. These resources are available in both print and online versions. For quick access and call numbers, visit our Law 101 guide. Note, print reference documents are located on the 4th floor near the reference service counter.
- "International law is the legal order which is meant to structure the interaction between entities participating in and shaping international relations (Besson 163). This rather wide definition deliberately avoids a reference to States ..."Max Planck encyclopedia of public international law - Wolfrum, Rüdiger.; Max-Planck-Institut für Ausländisches Öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht.
Call Number: Available online and FTX Reference KZ 1160 .M39 2012 v.1 - v.5
Publication Date: New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2008-
Format: E-Book and Book - "International law may be defined as the standard of conduct, at a given time for states and other entities subject ..."Parry & Grant encyclopaedic dictionary of international law. / [edited by] John P. Grant and J. Craig Barker.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: New York ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, c2009.
Format: E-Book - "It is the essence of public international law that it operates across state boundaries and, broadly speaking, the same rules and principles are accepted as binding by all states and operate to govern their relations ..."Canadian encyclopedic digest. Ontario.
Call Number: FTX Reference KEO 142. C33
Publication Date: Toronto: Toronto : Carswell, 2009-
Format: Book (loose-leaf) , Online (WestlawNext Canada) - "The legal system governing the relationships between countries; more modernly, the law of international relations, embracing not only countries but also such participants as international organizations and individuals ..."Black's law dictionary - Garner, Bryan A., editor. ; Black, Henry Campbell, 1860-1927. author. Law dictionary
Call Number: FTX Reference KF 156 .B53 2019
Publication Date: St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2019
Format: Book - "The system of law regulating the interrelationship of sovereign states and their rights and duties with regard to one another..."A Dictionary of Law - Martin, Elizabeth A. Jonathan Law
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2009-
Format: E- Book
GETTING STARTED > Course Reserve Books
Course reserve textbooks are a good starting point for your research. The following books are used in courses related to international law. To obtain course reserve books, locate the call number through the library catalogue and ask one of our circulation desk staff to borrow it. Course reserve materials can be borrowed for up to 4 hours. For online course reserve books, you can gain access by clicking links below. Note, some e-books have a limit of maximum concurrent users.
- International Law by Call Number: Available online and FTX General KZ 1242 .L69 2007Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.Format: Book Also available online.
- International Law by Call Number: FTX Reserve KZ 3410 .I574 2018Publication Date: Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2018.Format: Book
- International law : doctrine, practice, and theory by Call Number: Available online and FTX Reserve and General KZ 3410 .C86 2014Publication Date: Toronto : Irwin Law, 2014
- International law, chiefly as interpreted and applied in Canada by Call Number: FTX General KE 4252 .C37 2014Publication Date: Toronto : Emond Montgomery Publications, 2014.Format: Book
- New approaches to international law : the European and the American experiences by Publication Date: The Hague, The Netherlands : T. M. C. Asser Press : Imprint: T.M.C. Asser Press, 2013.Format: E-Book
- Public International Law by Call Number: Available online and FTX Reserve and Reference KZ 3410 .C87 2008Publication Date: Toronto Ont. : Irwin Law, 2008Format: Book and E-Book
- The international law of the sea by Call Number: FTX General KZA 1145 .R68 2010Publication Date: Oxford ; Portland, Or. : Hart, 2010.Format: Book
GETTING STARTED > uOttawa | Faculty of Law, Common Law Section
Disability Rights: The Conversation Between International Law and Domestic Law.
Published on April 10, 2013
