International Law (Public)

The University of Ottawa Library subscribes to some resourceful databases in international law for users to access both primary and secondary materials. In these following databases, you will find a good amount of journal articles, case law, legislation, commentary, etc.  

This collection allows researchers to browse through some international law publications such as from the American Society of International Law and prominent yearbooks from around the world, as well as the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law digests.

The Collected Courses Online is the electronic version of the longstanding book series on international law: Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law. The courses deal with the theoretical and practical aspects of the subject, including legislation and case law. They are given by the most prominent legal specialists in the world. All courses at the Academy are published in the language in which they were delivered, either in English or in French.

From Hein Online, this database includes more than 500 titles and 550,000 pages dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!

LLMC is a digital archive of government and legal information. Coverage is primarily American.

Contains foreign legal treatises of many different countries, comparisons between different legal systems including Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law and Islamic Law. Also includes commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, and festschriften.

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law contains online editions of important reference books and treatises published by Oxford University Press. Books such as Oppenheim, Oxford Handbooks in International Law, as well as Oxford Commentaries on International Law.

Provides reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series.

"Remember, every database is different, so it is important to get to know each in order to familiarize yourself with the various layouts and offerings."