Intellectual Property Law

CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.

Digital archives of legal information consisting of several full-text collections : The Law Library Journal - over 400 legal scholarly journals.

The Barreau du Québec French only databases are available to Faculty of Law students and professors.

Online collection of court and tribunal decisions, legislation, exclusive current awareness sources, expert commentary, and legal news.

SOQUIJ publishes decisions from the judicial and administrative tribunals of the Province of Québec.

WestlawNext Canada is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of U.S. and International material (Westlaw International) and Canadian material (LawSource).

The IPRC provides the full text of all decisions reported in United States Patents Quarterly from 1929 to the present. The Bureau of National Affairs (BNA) publishes daily, weekly, and monthly reports on the latest in legal news. BNA offers numerous databases on the following topics: antitrust, bankruptcy, corporate and securities, criminal law, employment and labor, environment and safety, ethics, family law, health care, intellectual property, litigation, tax, and trade and commerce. Many of these databases offer automatic email updates for members of the uOttawa Law School community. Sign up in the appropriate database.

Canadian Patent Reporter Plus is a collection of the most important case law in areas of patents, trademarks and competition law in Canada. It includes the full text of all Canadian Patent Reporter (CPR) cases from 1942 to present in combination with intellectual property statutes, regulations, and legislative history of the major intellectual property statutes going back to 1952.

Covering 25 different categories of law, this database provides information on how certain national legal system governs a specific field of law. Information is readily available on the most important legal disciplines in leading countries, with texts providing an overview of fields of law from a comparative perspective.

Kluwer IP Law provides an access to authoritative analysis, case law, news and legislation relevant to all aspects of intellectual property law across a vast range of jurisdictions.

Legal Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This collection offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics.

LegalTrac indexes about 800 major legal publications (from the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Ireland, Australia and New Zealand) such as law reviews, (e.g., Quebec law reviews are represented), legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.

(Campus Connection: CLICK ON "Register Later" to access)
TotalPatent research database by LexisNexis, provides access to all published patent documents from 100 authorities, with the full text of patent documents from 30 authorities. It offers multiple features and functionalities to make your intellectual property research more efficient and timely, including extensive search features, with semantic searching and a "Visualize & Compare" tool to analyze 2 or 3 result sets.

This database lets you access 93 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search more than 2,130,000 patent documents.

This version of the Canadian Trade-marks Database is comprised of all active and many inactive marks that were either applied for or registered pursuant to the current Trade-marks Act or former trade-mark legislation.

The Canadian Copyrights Database includes all copyrights registered as of October 1, 1991. In some cases, registrations prior to 1991 have been entered into the database due to request for certified copies.

The Canadian Industrial Designs Database includes all industrial designs registered. This database is updated every Thursday.