Aboriginal and Indigenous Law

Collections

American Indian Law Collection / Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
With more than 700 unique titles and 350,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This library also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.
Westlaw Canada
International > All Westlaw US > Practice Area > Native American Law
Indian & Tribal Law Guide (University of Washington)

Available Online

Sovereignty and land rights of indigenous peoples in the United States by Edwards, Wayne.
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9781137594006
Publication Date: New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, c.2020

Quick Links

Key Resources

CanLII
[+][-]
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
La référence (REJB/DCL)
[+][-]
Barreau du Québec databases - Off-campus users will be prompted for their library UOttawa account.
LexisNexis/Quicklaw
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials; Selective coverage of International material)
Soquij-Recherche juridique (Azimut)
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Quebec case law and doctrine (French only).
Westlaw Canada
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of U.S. and Canadian material; Selective coverage of other International material. Includes the Canadian Abridgment and the CED Canadian Encyclopedia Digest.

ABORIGINAL RIGHTS > United States > Legislation

American Indian treaties : a guide to ratified and unratified colonial, United States, state, foreign, and intertribal treaties and agreements, 1607-1911 / Donald L. Fixico, editor. Publisher Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2008.
Congress (US Legislation)
The Indian Reorganization Act : congresses and bills / edited by Vine Deloria, Jr. Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c2002.
Indigenous Digital Archive Treaties Explorer
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Native American Rights Fund, National Indian Law Library, Tribal Law Gateway / Portal
U.S. Code -- Title 25 Indians
United States Constitution Article VI
"This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties made, or which shall be made, under the Authority of the United States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding."

ABORIGINAL RIGHTS > United States > Courts, Tribunals, Reporters...

ABORIGINAL RIGHTS > United States > Native Organisations

ABORIGINAL RIGHTS > United States > Aboriginal Issues Databases

Political database of the Americas. Indigenous Peoples and Democracy

ABORIGINAL RIGHTS > United States > Journals

U.S. Government Agencies

U.S. Dept. of the Interior. Indian Affairs

Find Books, Journals, DVDs and More.

Search our Catalogue:

Online Catalog - Native American Rights Fund - Liberty

Online Catalog - Native American Rights Fund - Liberty
The National Indian Law Library collection includes:
* Tribal self-governance documents including tribal constitutions, codes, ordinances, charters, bylaws and intergovernmental agreements.
* Legal pleadings from important Indian law cases.
* Indian law treatises, case law reporters, handbooks, and manuals.
* Native American Rights Fund publications.
* Federal legislative history documents relating to Indian law including statutes, congressional hearings etc.

Legislative & Case Law updates - Current Awareness

Research Guides