Case Law - Aboriginal and Indigenous Law - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Available Online

CanLII
[+][-]
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
La référence (REJB/DCL)
[+][-]
Barreau du Québec databases - Off-campus users will be prompted for their library UOttawa account.
LexisNexis/Quicklaw
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials; Selective coverage of International material)
Soquij-Recherche juridique (Azimut)
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Quebec case law and doctrine (French only).
Westlaw Canada
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of U.S. and Canadian material; Selective coverage of other International material. Includes the Canadian Abridgment and the CED Canadian Encyclopedia Digest.

Below are case law resources which provide links of databases :

Legal Pleadings Search (Native Law Centre, University of Saskatchewan)
"The Native Law Centre library is a depository for Aboriginal law materials and is the only facility of its kind in Canada. Our collection has served as a valuable resource to students, law practitioners, academics and others interested in the area since 1985."
CanLII
CanLII provides free access to Canadian legislation and case law.
National Aboriginal Document Database
Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada
Supreme Court of Canada - Decisions
This collection contains the Supreme Court of Canada judgments since 1907 and judgments in leave applications since 2006. The collection is updated within minutes of the public release of the judgments by the Court.
Supreme Court of Canada cases involving Indigenous peoples
This guide presents a number of Supreme Court of Canada decisions dealing with Indigenous law and First Nations rights. Note that this is not a comprehensive list, but one that endeavours to cover the most representative, impactful Supreme Court cases dealing with these issues over the past several decades.