International Law of Indigenous Peoples' Rights - Aboriginal and Indigenous Law - Guides de recherche

Available Online

CanLII
[+][-]
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
La référence (REJB/DCL)
[+][-]
Barreau du Québec databases - Off-campus users will be prompted for their library UOttawa account.
LexisNexis/Quicklaw
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials; Selective coverage of International material)
Soquij-Recherche juridique (Azimut)
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Quebec case law and doctrine (French only).
Westlaw Canada
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of U.S. and Canadian material; Selective coverage of other International material. Includes the Canadian Abridgment and the CED Canadian Encyclopedia Digest.

There are two main areas in the United Nations human rights system:

1. UN human rights bodies and mechanisms established by legally binding human rights treaties (treaty-based bodies)

2. UN human rights bodies and mechanisms established as a result of resolutions and decisions of the UN system (charter-based bodies)

Minority Group Rights
Racial Discrimination. Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) General Recommendation No. 23: Indigenous Peoples : . 08/18/1997. Gen. Rec. No. 23. (General Comments)
General Recommendation 23 calls on governments to recognize and respect distinct Indigenous culture and ensure that in all decisions that effect their rights and interests the informed consent of Indigenous peoples is obtained.
Right to Development
The Declaration on the Right to Development (adopted UN General Assembly, 1986). A rights based approach to development, as detailed by the Declaration, is relevant to the recognition of Indigenous rights as it provides a basis for Indigenous control over their own development process.
The ILO Convention (No.169) Concerning Indigenous and Tribal Peoples in Independent Countries
A treaty specifically relating to Indigenous human rights.
Makes particular reference to the principle of free, prior and informed consent (see Articles 6 and 7 for example)
Traditional Knowledge and the Convention on Biological Diversity

Progress Report on the Study on Indigenous Peoples and the Right to Participate in Decision-Making
[+][-]
The Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples of the UN Human Rights Council has issued a Preliminary Report which deals with the international human rights framework, internal decision-making processes of the Indigenous Peoples and their participation in decision-making mechanisms related to State and non-State institutions, and to the processes affecting Indigenous Peoples.
State of the World's Indigenous Peoples
Final study on indigenous peoples and the right to participate in decision-making