1991 - 2016 Censuses
Get B2020 viewer
Compatible with Windows-based computers and supports .ivt tables.
>Need to install the Beyond 20/20 viewer?
Access the Beyond 20/20 software support page and follow the screen instructions.
>Help?
Flash demos [Link] || Guides [Link] || Overview brochure [Link] || Brief videos tutorials created by Carleton University Library [Link]
>Benefits?
- Easily customize the llayouts and labels of your data (including geo-codes)
- Supports various formats for importing for many applications.
What are Census Profiles?
Profiles give statistics for many hundreds of population characteristics for an area. Table 1, shows province-level Census statistics.
Table 1, Census profile illustration.
|
Characteristics |
|
|
|
Population, total |
7,546,130 |
12,160,285 |
|
male, total |
3,687,695 |
5,930,700 |
|
female, total |
3,858,440 |
6,229,580 |
|
male, aged 0-4 |
191,565 |
343,475 |
|
female, aged 0-4 |
183,710 |
327,290 |
|
mother tongue, French only |
5,877,660 |
488,815 |
|
mother tongue, French and English |
43,335 |
32,685 |
|
immigrants |
851,555 |
3,398,725 |
|
legally married (and not separated) |
2,361,855 |
5,168,660 |
Statistics Canada. 2007. Ontario, Quebec (tables). 2006 Community Profiles. 2006 Census. Statistics
http://www12.statcan.ca/english/census06/data/profiles/community/Index.cfm?Lang=E
What are Topic-based tabulations?
Use Topic-based tabulations to tabulate two or more characteristics yourself, e.g., Education-Immigration-Sex table 97-562-XCB200601:
EDUCATION
Québec
Ontario
Highest level of schooling
IMMIGRANT?
SEX
Total
non-immigrant
male
2596125
3164910
non-immigrant
female
2754440
3334715
immigrant
male
389240
1528165
immigrant
female
401715
1689360
No certificate, diploma
non-immigrant
male
666565
751430
non-immigrant
female
691140
721150
immigrant
male
80585
298530
immigrant
female
103775
396045
High school or equivalent
non-immigrant
male
551680
876495
non-immigrant
female
668725
971965
immigrant
male
69015
330320
immigrant
female
79645
423290
College, CEGEP, diploma/cert.
non-immigrant
male
385115
555990
non-immigrant
female
497450
742840
immigrant
male
50285
220875
immigrant
female
54540
272770
University certificate/degree
non-immigrant
male
374460
550620
non-immigrant
female
414385
622555
immigrant
male
115205
419100
immigrant
female
98080
385740
or you can cross-tabulate yourself from census microdata on Odesi
2016 Census
Statistics Canada releases a variety of statistical products for each census year. Below are links to some of these products, along with a brief description.
- 2016 Census Profile
This profile presents information from the 2016 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities and census tracts.- Download Census Profile by Geography: We recommend downloading the IVT files (Beyond 20/20 ).
- Download Census Profile by Geography: We recommend downloading the IVT files (Beyond 20/20
- 2016 Census Highlight Tables
Highlight tables provide information highlights by topic via key indicators for various levels of geography. The tables allow users to perform simple rank and sort functions. - 2016 Census Analytical Products
The 2016 Census Program Census in Brief articles provide an overview of key findings from the 2016 Census Program topics. Key findings are also presented through videos and infographics. - Census 2016 Data Tables
This series of cross-tabulations present a portrait of Canada based on the various census topics. They range in complexity and are available for various levels of geography. - Census demographics and statistics
Includes links to current and previous census statistics by community.
2011 Census Progam
- 2011 Census profiles (Odesi)B2020 and Excel Aggregate Data (.ivt and .csv format); in order to view this data, please download and install the B2020 browser software which can be found here: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/public-publique/beyond20-20-eng.htm.
- 2011 National Household Survey Profile (Odesi)B2020 and Excel Aggregate Data (.ivt and .csv format); in order to view this data, please download and install the B2020 browser software which can be found here: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/public-publique/beyond20-20-eng.htm.
COMPARE 2011 Census topics Versus 2006 Census topics.
For missing Census topics, consult the data from the 2011 voluntary National Household Survey (NHS).
- Census and NHS 2011 Reference materialsSupporting documentation for census data. Includes census dictionnary, overview, questionnaires and more. On Statistics Canada web site.
- 2011 Census Topic-based tabulations (Odesi)The following data is presented in the Beyond 2020 format (.ivt); in order to view this data, please download and install the B2020 browser software which can be found here: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/public-publique/beyond20-20-eng.htm.
- 2011 National Household Survey (NHS) 2011 : Data Tables (Odesi)The following data is presented in the Beyond 2020 format (.ivt); in order to view this data, please download and install the B2020 browser software which can be found here: http://www.statcan.gc.ca/public-publique/beyond20-20-eng.htm.
- Population and Dwelling Counts [Excel]Features the distribution of population and dwellings in Canada by various geographic areas. On Odesi.
- Canadian Census Analyser Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides access to commonly requested census data, 1971-2011.
- Community Information Database (CID)The Community Information Database (CID) is a free internet-based resource developed to provide communities, researchers, and governments with access to consistent and reliable socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada.
2006 Census of Population
Last Census covering multiple socio-economic themes. Long-form questionnaire 2B (20%). Short-form questionnaire 2A (100%)
- Topic-based Tabulations [B2020]Presents a portrait of Canada based on the various census topics for various levels of geography. On Odesi.
- Population and Dwelling Counts [Excel]Features the distribution of population and dwellings in Canada by various geographic areas. On Odesi.
- Profile Series [B2020]Features statistical overviews by various geographic areas based on a number of detailed variables. On Odesi.
- Community ProfilesFeatures community-level information. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Analysis SeriesFeatures catalogued articles providing an analytical perspective on 2006 Census topics. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Highlight TablesFeatures information highlights by topic via key indicators for various levels of geography. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Aboriginal Population ProfileFeatures community-level information. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Census Tract (CT) ProfilesFeatures census tract data. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Federal Electoral District (FED) ProfileFeatures information for federal electoral districts. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Special interest profilesFeatures data for specific census topics and population groups according to selected demographic, cultural, and socio-economic characteristics. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Reference MaterialsSupporting documentation for census data. Includes census dictionnary, overview, questionnaires and more. On Statistics Canada web site.
- GeographyInformation on a wide range of census geographic areas. Includes maps, reference products, spatial information products and more. On Statistics Canada web site.
2001 Census of Population
- Topic-based Tabulations [B2020]Topics include Aboriginal Peoples, Workforce, Earnings, Education, Families & Households, Immigration & Citizenship, Language and more. On Odesi.
- Population and Dwelling Count [B2020]Features the distribution of population and dwellings in Canada by various geographic areas. On Odesi.
- Profile Series [B2020]Features statistical overviews by various geographic areas. On Odesi.
- Community ProfilesFeatures community level information. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Aboriginal Population ProfilesFeatures information on the Aboriginal identity population for various communities in Canada. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Fedoral Electoral District (FED) ProfileFeatures data for both the 1996 Representation Order and the 2003 Representation Order. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Reference MaterialsHome page for the 2001 Census. Includes Census questionnaires, dictionnary, catalogue, thematic and reference maps, and more. On Statistics Canada web site.
1996 Census of Population
- Basic Summary Tables [B2020]Features two or three inter-related variables that deal with specific characteristics of people, families or households, or with a characteristic of Canadian dwellings. On Odesi.
- Profile Series [B2020]Features statistical overviews by various geographic areas. On Odesi.
- Nation Series [B2020]Features Canadian population characteristics by theme. Some data tables reflect historical trends. On Odesi.
- Dimension Series [B2020]Features Canadian population characteristics by theme. Some data tables reflect historical trends. On Odesi.
- Population and dwelling countsFeatures the distribution of population and dwellings in Canada by various geographic areas. On Statistics Canada web site.
- Reference MaterialsHome page for the 1996 Census. Includes Census catalogue, dictionnary, handbook and more. On Statistics Canada web site.
1991 Census of Population
- Basic Summary Tables [B2020]Features two or three inter-related variables by Enumerations Areas. On Odesi.
