Canadian survey data
Welcome to public mental health data:
Statistics Canada's.
- Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS), 2015-2016, 2012 and 2002, and
- Canadian Forces Mental Health Survey (CFMHS) via RTRA
+ new: Crowdsource data: Impacts of COVID-19 on mental health
Use this guide and save precious time!
The public use microdata files (PUMFs) and their documentation are provided by your Library , Statistics Canada (DLI), and the odesi.ca portal under the Libraryè's DLI agreement.
Your Guide to the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS): mental health theme & the Canadian Forces CFMHS (RTRA)
- The tabs to the right cover three survey's (CCHS) public use data files, and remote access to detailed survey (CFMHS) data:SUMMARY and further sources:
1. PUMF: 2015-16 CCHS
Canadian Community Health Survey, 2015-2016: Annual component
n=109,659
2. PUMF : 2012 CCHS
Canadian Community Health Survey, 2012: Mental Health Component
Features an in-depth mental health theme
n=25,113
3. PUMF : 2002 CCHS
Canadian Community Health Survey, 2002: Cycle 1.2, Mental Health and Well-being
Features an in-depth mental health theme
n=36,984
4. RTRA : 2013 CFMHS
Canadian Forces Mental Health Survey, 2013
RTRA (descriptive statistics only)
n=8165 Represents 6,696 regular members and 1,469 reservists
Supplemental sources: - Mental health indicators2012 and 2002
- Aggregated by provinces, ages, sex
- Statistics Canada Table 13-10-0465-01 - Census indicatorsCensus 2016 data aggregated by Health Regions and other geographies.
Statistics Canada Table: 17-10-0123-01 - Related products, CCHS - Mental healthStatistics Canada
- excluded at this time - Canadian Community Health Survey, 2002: Cycle 1.2, Mental Health and Well-beingn=36,984
Citing your data is recommended
- when data is the basis of your analysis or when your research draws on data for its support or conclusions
Here are (APA) examples on how to cite Statistics Canada's public-use microdata files:
- 2015-2016 public use microdata file
- 2012 public use microdata file
- 2002 public use microdata file
Mining data from the CCHS 2015-2016: Annual component [Public-use microdata file]
Considerations:
- This PUMF comprises 1,283 variables which are organized into modules, which in turn, correspond to core or optional content
- For details on which moduels are core content versus optional content, consult Appendices A and B in this time-saving extract (from the User guide).
- Need to know module codes (and their variable lists)? See the Topical Index on pages 587-631 in the Data dictionary.
READY to get started?
Read on below!
- Cost factorsSee Health insurance coverage | Income | Labour force | Loss of productivity | Unmet health care needs ... modules in Odesi.
- DemographicsSee Dwelling and Household Variables | Educational Attainment | Geography | Income | Labour Force | Socio-demographic Characteristics ... modules in Odesi.
- Health Region Peer Groups (9)
- Health servicesSee Access to health care services | Contacts with health professionals - part 1 | Consultations about mental health | Home care services | Medication use | Patient experiences | Patient satisfaction - community-based care | Primary health care | Unmet health care needs | Waiting times ... modules in Odesi.
See also Pro-health behaviours and factors (various health tests) - Mental health conditions and diseasesSee Chronic condtions (namely, has a mood disorder, has an anxiety disorder) | Depression | General health (including self-rated mental health) | Suicidal thoughts and attempts | Work stress ... modules in Odesi.
See also Risk behaviours and factors - Must-have variable: WeightWeights: Master variable required for descriptive statistics ... in Odesi.
- Physical health conditions and diseasesSee Chronic conditions | Height and weight | Health Utility Index ... modules in Odesi.
See also Pro-health behaviors and related (especially the health tests) - Pro-health behaviours and factorsSee Blood pressure check | Canada’s Food Guide use | Changes made to improve health | Colorectal cancer screening | Dental care | Diabetes care | Eye examinations | Flu shots | Food choices | Fruit and vegetable consumption | Height and weight | Mammography | Maternal experiences | Oral health | Pap smear test | Physical activities - adults 18 years and older | Physical activities for youth | Physical check-up | Prostate cancer screening | Satisfaction with life | Sleep | Smoking - stages of change | Smoking cessation methods | Sun safety behaviours | Use of protective equipment ... modules in Odesi.
See also Cost factors - Risk behaviours and factorsSee Alcohol use | Alcohol use during the past week | Driving and safety | Drug use | Drug use methods | Exposure to second hand smoke | Nicotine dependence | Problem gambling | Sedentary activities | Sexual behaviours (e.g., Total number of sexual partners - 12 mo - (D) - new) | Smoking | Smoking during maternal experience | Suicidal thoughts and attempts | Tobacco product alternatives | Unmet health care needs ... modules in Odesi.
See also Pro-health behaviours and factors ... - Self-rated health and functional healthSee General health | Health Utility Index | Height and weight | Injuries ... modules in Odesi.
- Social environmentSee Geography | Satisfaction with life | Social provisions | Work stress ... modules in Odesi.
See also Demography.
- Bootstrap weights CCHS 2015-2016 PUMFNew
Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access. - Bootstrap Variance Estimation using Statistics Canada Survey DataNew
Documentation. - Approximate Sampling Variability TablesNew
------- - CCHS 2015-16 PUMF - SAS dataComplete data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access.
- CCHS 2015-16 PUMF - Stata dataComplete data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access.
............ - Data DictionaryEssential. Enhanced codebook. See pages 587-631: Topical Index .
Produced by Statistics Canada [data producer]. - Guide to Derived Variables (supplemental documentation)Describes and defines how derived variables are calculated for the CCHS.
- User guideIn-depth survey methodology. See Appendices A and B (pages 62-70), for information on the common, optional and rapid response content of the survey.
- Bonus - Insights in community characteristics for the CCHSCompare health regions across Canada (110) by their peer groups (9), whereby health regions which are grouped by comparable characteristics, which are largely: (1) Urban/rural or density, (2) rates of employment (3) representation (%) of Indigenous peoples and (4) representation (%) of Visible minority groups.
- Basic characteristics of the peer groups?
- How do the peer groups map out across Canada? ... See pdf map and Description of map
- More details on the peer groups? - CCHS 2015-16 PUMF - SPSS data filefile format (social sciences)
Mining data from the CCHS 2012: Mental Health Component [Public-use microdata file]
Tip: Compare 2002 / 2012 content:
See Appendix B - 2012 CCHS - Mental Health and 2002 CCHS- Mental Health and Well-Being Comparison, pages 76-161.
READY to mine data from across 586 variables in the CCHS 2012?
Yes! Read on below ...
- Cost factorsSee Help Needed | Income | Labour force | Perceived Need for Care ... modules in Odesi.
- DemographicsSee Dwelling and Household Variables | Education | Geography Variables | Income | Labour Force | Socio-demographic Characteristics ... modules in Odesi.
- Health ServicesSee Help Needed | Medication Use | Mental Health Services Utilization | Perceived Need for Care ... modules in Odesi.
- Mental health conditions and diseasesSee Bipolar Disorder | Chronic Conditions (Mood disorders, An anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, learning disorder, Attention Deficit Disorder) | Depression | Distress | Generalized Anxiety Disorder | Hypomania | Mania | Mental Health Profile | Screener Mental Disorders | Stress - Sources | Suicidal Thoughts and Attempts ... modules in Odesi.
- Must have variable: WeightWeights: Master variable required for descriptive statistics ... in Odesi.
- Physical health conditions and diseasesSee Chronic Conditions ... modules in Odesi.
See also Self-rated health and functional health - Pro-health behaviours and factorsMedication Use | Mental Health Services Utilization | Perceived Need for Care | Physical Activity Short | Positive Mental Health ... modules in Odesi.
- Risk behaviours and factorsSee Alcohol Use, Abuse and Dependence | Smoking | Substance Use, Abuse and Dependence | Suicidal Thoughts and Attempts ... modules in Odesi.
- Self-rated health and functional healthSee General Health | Height and Weight - Self-reported | Health Utilities Index - Pain and Discomfort | Two-week Disability ... modules in Odesi.
- Social environmentSee Childhood Experiences | Contact with Police | Family Mental Health Impact | Geography Variables | Mental Health Experiences | Negative Social Interactions | Positive Mental Health | Social Provisions Scale 10 Items | Spirituality | Stress - Work Stress ... modules in Odesi.
- CCHS 2012 PUMF - SAS dataComplete data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access.
- CCHS 2012 PUMF - Stata dataComplete data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access.
- NEW: Approximate sampling variability tables1. Input tables
2. by Canada, Age ranges (15-24, 25-44, 45-54, 55 +), Provinces - (CV tables)
3. Tables of release cut-offs for totals: Canada, Provinces Age ranges.
22 pages. - Data DictionaryEssential. Important to consult: Topical Index to data dictionary.
- Guide to Derived Variables - supplemental documentationDescribes and defines how derived variables are calculated for the CCHS 2012: Mental health component.
- User guideIn-depth survey methodology. See Appendix B - 2012 CCHS - Mental Health and 2002 CCHS- Mental Health and Well-Being Comparison, pages 76-161. And see Complement to user guide.
- NEW: Approximate sampling variability tables1. Input tables,
2. General coefficient of variability tables by ...
* Age groups (15-24, 25-44, 45-54, 55 +), *Provinces, *Provinces by age groups, Grouped Ontario health regions (SW, CS, CW, CE, Toronto, Ontario East and North)
(C above=Central)
3. Mental Health Disorders A to I, including Depression, Mood, Anxiety, Substance Abuse, at least one disorder, by...
* same as "2” above, excluding Ontario East.
51 pages. - CCHS 2002 PUMF - SAS dataComplete data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access
- CCHS 2002 PUMF - Stat dataComplete data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access
- Data Dictionary, CCHS 2002 MHEssential. Important to consult: Topical Index
- User GuideIn-depth survey methodology and weighting.
Compare 2002 / 2012 content:
See: Appendix B - 2012 CCHS - Mental Health and 2002 CCHS- Mental Health and Well-Being Comparison, pages 76-161. - Guide to Derived Variables - supplemental documentationDescribes and defines how derived variables are calculated for the CCHS 2002: Mental health.
Canadian Forces Mental Health Survey (CFMHS)
The purpose of this survey is to re-assess the mental health of respondents who participated in a similar survey conducted in 2002. Data were collected between April and September 2013.
The CFMHS covers all Regular members of the Canadian Armed Forces as well as Reservists who have been deployed in support of the mission in Afghanistan. Members of the civilian population have been excluded from the survey’s coverage. Click for More information.
- CFMHS 2013 SAS dummy dataComplete dummy data file. Your Library account and password are required for off-campus access.
- Preliminary RTRA templateSee SAS versus RTRA
- RTRA survey parameters
