"Systematic reviews address a need for health decision makers to be able to access high quality, relevant, accessible and up-to-date information."
Source: Lasserson TJ, Thomas J, Higgins JPT. Chapter 1: Starting a review. In: Higgins JPT, Thomas J, Chandler J, Cumpston M, Li T, Page MJ, Welch VA (editors). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.3 (updated February 2022). Cochrane, 2022. Available from www.training.cochrane.org/handbook.
Systematic reviews can be found in databases:
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised health care evidence, including 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care.
Prospero- International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews
Registration is free and open to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of the effects of interventions and strategies to prevent, diagnose, treat, and monitor health conditions, for which there is a health related outcome.
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.
You can limit your results to systematic reviews. Before you type in the search query, on the search screen:
Hedges are often used for comprehensive searches (ex. umbrella review focused on systematic reviews as a study design).
Note that hedges can be database specific, therefore some hedges can only be used for certain databases. This is because not all search fields are universal across all databases.
