Help
Having trouble accessing one of these standards? Email me, your civil engineering librarian, for help! Evan.Sterling@uottawa.ca.
Design handbooks/manuals
Concrete design handbook, 4th ed. by Call Number: MRT Général TA 683.2 .C65Publication Date: 2016Includes CSA standard A23.3-14
Handbook of Steel Construction, 11th ed. by Call Number: MRT General TA 684 .H25 2016ISBN: 0888112033Publication Date: 2016Includes CSA S16-14 standard.
Wood design manual, 2017 by Call Number: MRT Général TH 1101 .W66 2017ISBN: 9781989039007Includes CSA Standard 086-14
Canadian Foundation Engineering Manual, 4th ed. by Call Number: Morisset Library MRT General TA 775 .C25 2006ISBN: 9780920505281Publication Date: 2006The CFEM provides background information and accepted design guidelines on geotechnical aspects of foundation engineering,
Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures, 15th U.S. ed. by Publication Date: 2011Presents the properties of concrete as needed in concrete construction, including strength and durability. Discusses all concrete ingredients (cementitious materials, water, aggregates, admixtures and fibres). Note: We also have a print copy of the previous edition in Morisset.
CPCI Design Manual, Precast and Prestressed Concrete, 5th ed. by ISBN: 9781775009016Publication Date: 2017Covers the design, manufacture and installation of precast reinforced and prestressed concrete. Note: users need to submit a registration form in order to receive a download link.
More engineering standards
- More Engineering Standards: CGSB (Canadian General Standards Board)Looking for a standard published by the CGSB National Standard of Canada. ? uOttawa may have a copy available for consultation. Our Library catalogue lists some CGSB standards. More may be available but not listed in our catalogue. To find these, consult the Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB) Catalogue and write down the # and title of the standards e.g. CAN/CGSB-12.20-M89: Structural Design of Glass for Buildings. As noted at this catalogue record some CGSB standards are shelved at Government Pubs - MRT 3th floor under a call # begining with CA1 P27 followed by the CGSB number such as 12.20-M89.
Civil Engineering Standards and Codes (including CSA)
- CSA standards available through TechstreetWe have access to latest versions of the key structural design standards from CSA and AASHTO.
- CSA A23.1/A23.2 - Concrete materials and methods of concrete construction / Test methods and standard practices for concrete
- CSA A23.3 - Design of concrete structures
- CSA O86 - Engineering design in wood
- CAN/CSA S6 - Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code with Commentary
- CSA S16 - Design of steel structures
- CSA S806 - Design and construction of concrete structures with FRP
- AASHTO T307-99 - Standard Method of Test for Determining the Resilient Modulus of Soils and Aggregate Materials
Note: Previous/historical versions of these standards are available through the above links. Some CSA standards are also included in the relevant design handbook, which we may have in print - see the other box on this page.
- 2022 ACI Concrete Codes, Specifications and PracticesA print collection of almost all ACI documents up to 2022. After you sign in, you can request an emailed scan of a particular document. You will need to specify which of the 9 volumes your document is located in, see the 'Contents' description on the page. A full list of the included ACI documents is here
- ASCE Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe ASCE Library includes over 100 current ASCE standards, in areas such as seismic and tsunami design, hydrology, and geotechnical engineering.
- ASTM Compass Standards Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowStandards set by ASTM International. Access to the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL), which includes all the active ASTM standards plus historical, withdrawn, and redlined standards. ASTM Compass also includes journals, conferences, ebooks and papers, dating back as 1932.
Note: We generally do not have electronic access to ACI concrete standards, but we can usually get a copy! Email me for guidance.
National Building Code (NBCC) and Ontario Building Code
Current codes - electronic access
National Building Code of Canada by Publication Date: 2022This is the "National Building Code of Canada 2020", however it was released in 2022.
Structural Commentaries for the National Building Code by Publication Date: 2015The Structural Commentaries (User’s Guide – NBC 2015: Part 4 of Division B) is intended to help Code users understand and apply the design requirements provided in Part 4 of the NBCC.
Note: Structural Commentaries for the 2020 NBCC are not yet available.
About building codes
The National Building Code of Canada, along with other related codes like the National Fire Code and National Plumbing Code, lays out the minimum safety and performance requirements that buildings must meet. They are frequently consulted by engineers and architects. It is updated every five years by large committees of working professionals and researchers, coordinated by the National Research Council. (If you are interested, there are more details on the process here). Canada has one of the world's most respected building codes. Currently, for example, the building codes are being updated for 2020 to ensure buildings are designed for potential future impacts of climate change.
The building codes are not legally-binding until they are adopted by each province, which can take several years. Ontario and other large provinces choose to write their own code from scratch, while still largely following the National Building Code template.
What are standards?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose. International standards ensure that products and services are safe, reliable and of good quality.
Source: ISO Standards
The costs associated with the development, publication, and distribution of standards are significant expenses, which is why standards organizations do not provide access to standards for free. In addition, there are copyright restrictions on standards that typically prohibit users from copying, printing, or reproducing any part of the document. These restrictions can make it difficult for libraries to provide access to standards.
Sources: Telecommunications Industry Association Standards Education and Resources and
How to best use IEC and ISO Standards: a user guide on licensing options and respecting copyright
- ANSI - FAQWhat is a standard?
Why are standards important?
How are standards created?
Who creates standards?
What is conformity assessment?
How is compliance with standards verified?