Print and eBooks
Search+ discovers books, chapter or articles in some of our resources
Classic Catalogue lists books and journals in our print or online collection
Journal articles
Find peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal articles through indexed keywords in Article databases with full text links thanks to 
&Library subscriptions.
- More article databasesArticles tab on Civil Engineering Library guide
Which databases to use?
There are many journals on this topic and you can easily find information by searching an article database.
Each database indexes different journals but there is overlap so the suggested databases are the best starting points.
GeoRisk
Search these databases for articles:
ANTE, Earthquake Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (Proquest)
Geotechnical and Geological Engineering
Search these databases for articles:
ANTE, ASFA, Earthquake Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (Proquest)
A few book suggestions
There are many books (print and ebook) on this topic including...
Foundation engineering handbook: design and construction with the 2009 international building code by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0071764240Publication Date: 2010
Geologic Hazards: A field guide for geotechnical engineers by Call Number: eBook + MRT General TA 705 .H844 2007ISBN: 9781420052510Publication Date: 2010-12-12
Geomorphological Hazards and Disaster Prevention by Call Number: eBook + MRT General GB 5014 .A43 2010ISBN: 9780521769259Publication Date: 2010-03-04
Geotechnical earthquake engineering handbook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0071449892Publication Date: 2002
Geotechnical Engineering for Disaster Mitigation and Rehabilitation:proceedings of the 2nd International Conference GEDMAR08 in Nanjing, China by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783540798460Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Geotechnical engineering: soil and foundation principles and practice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0071549226Publication Date: 2007
Standards
ASTM Standards are available through uOttawa's subscription.
Other standards can be located through online catalogues but must often be purchased.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital LibraryFulltext of Standards are available in our ASTM subscription.
Search results for Keyword: "seismic risk" - Standards Council of CanadaFull standards must be purchased.
FAQ
- Citation LinkerSearch for an article from a citation or reference
- Make an off-campus linkFor a DOI or permanent URL
Citiation Styles
ASCE: Quick Guide to Common Types of Referenced Material
ASME provides instructions to authors for presenting references in the journals they publish
Other styles in science and engineering are described on the Citing tab of the Civil Engineering Library Guide.
Other formats: Engineering material
- Trade magazinesInternational Water Power & Dam Construction is an example of a trade magazine
- Technical PapersSTP1415: Water Potential Response in Fractured Basalt from Infiltration Events is an example of a Selected Technical Paper (STP) published by ASTM
- Government Web sitesEnvironment Canada has a website for Water Management/Dams & Diversions which includes some basic information on dams in Canada