Cost Estimating Information
Estimating Building Costs for the Residential and Light Commercial Construction Professional by ISBN: 9781118237427Publication Date: 2012
- RS Means Building construction cost dataCall Number: MRT Reserve - circulation desk TH 435 .B84Publication Date: 2014
- RS Means Green Building Cost DataCall Number: MRT Reserve - circulation desk TH 880 .R75Publication Date: 2014
- RS Means Square foot cost dataCall Number: MRT Reserve - circulation desk TH 435 .M44Publication Date: 2014
- RS Means Facilities Construction cost dataPublication Date: 2014Maintenance, construction and renovation of facilities
- RS Means site work and landscape cost dataCall Number: MRT Reserve TH 435. M4367Publication Date: 2014
- Hanscomb Yardsticks for Costing 2014Call Number: MRT Reserve - MRT circulation desk TH 435 .H324 2014Publication Date: 2014
Civil Engineering design standards
- CSA standards available through TechstreetWe have access to latest versions of the key structural design standards from CSA and AASHTO.
- CSA A23.1/A23.2 - Concrete materials and methods of concrete construction / Test methods and standard practices for concrete
- CSA A23.3 - Design of concrete structures
- CSA O86 - Engineering design in wood
- CAN/CSA S6 - Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code with Commentary
- CSA S16 - Design of steel structures
- CSA S806 - Design and construction of concrete structures with FRP
- AASHTO T307-99 - Standard Method of Test for Determining the Resilient Modulus of Soils and Aggregate Materials
Note: Previous/historical versions of these standards are available through the above links. Some CSA standards are also included in the relevant design handbook, which we may have in print - see the other box on this page.
- 2022 ACI Concrete Codes, Specifications and PracticesA print collection of almost all ACI documents up to 2022. After you sign in, you can request an emailed scan of a particular document. You will need to specify which of the 9 volumes your document is located in, see the 'Contents' description on the page. A full list of the included ACI documents is here
- ASCE Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe ASCE Library includes over 100 current ASCE standards, in areas such as seismic and tsunami design, hydrology, and geotechnical engineering.
- ASTM Compass Standards Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowStandards set by ASTM International. Access to the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL), which includes all the active ASTM standards plus historical, withdrawn, and redlined standards. ASTM Compass also includes journals, conferences, ebooks and papers, dating back as 1932.
Note: We generally do not have electronic access to ACI concrete standards, but we can usually get a copy! Email me for guidance.
Evaluating information from websites
Websites for companies, products and organizations can be a valuable source of information for engineering design projects. However, it's important to keep in mind that this info is less reliable than scholarly articles - you need to evaluate it with a skeptical eye. Companies are trying to portray themselves in the best light. One handy acronym for evaluating web content is the CRAAP test (created by Meriam Library at CSU Chico):
- Currency: How recent is the information? When was it posted or updated? Do you need current information for your search, or is older information fine? Sometimes product websites might still be live even though the product is no longer available.
- Relevance: is the information really related to your topic? Who is it intended for - designers, contractors, academics, the general public?
- Authority: Who is the source of the information, and are they qualified to write on this? What are there credentials and affiliations? If the website doesn't list an author or organization, that isn't a good sign. Can you find information about the source elsewhere on the web? However, even people with PhDs can provide unreliable information.
- Accuracy: How reliable does the information appear to be? Does the source back up its claims with evidence, data, and/or links to credible sources? Is the writing restrained or does it use exaggerated words (like claiming that a product is the world's best)? Are there spelling errors or typos?
- Purpose: What is the reason for the web page? To inform people, to sell something, to add something to the writer's CV, to entertain? If it isn't clear what the purpose is, be skeptical.
Design handbooks
Concrete design handbook, 4th ed. by Call Number: MRT Général TA 683.2 .C65Publication Date: 2016Includes CSA standard A23.3-14
Handbook of Steel Construction, 11th ed. by Call Number: MRT General TA 684 .H25 2016ISBN: 0888112033Publication Date: 2016Includes CSA S16-14 standard.
Wood design manual, 2017 by Call Number: MRT Général TH 1101 .W66 2017ISBN: 9781989039007Includes CSA Standard 086-14
Canadian Foundation Engineering Manual, 4th ed. by Call Number: Morisset Library MRT General TA 775 .C25 2006ISBN: 9780920505281Publication Date: 2006The CFEM provides background information and accepted design guidelines on geotechnical aspects of foundation engineering,
Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures, 15th U.S. ed. by Publication Date: 2011Presents the properties of concrete as needed in concrete construction, including strength and durability. Discusses all concrete ingredients (cementitious materials, water, aggregates, admixtures and fibres). Note: We also have a print copy of the previous edition in Morisset.
CPCI Design Manual, Precast and Prestressed Concrete, 5th ed. by ISBN: 9781775009016Publication Date: 2017Covers the design, manufacture and installation of precast reinforced and prestressed concrete. Note: users need to submit a registration form in order to receive a download link.