Print and eBooks
Search+ discovers books, chapter or articles in some of our resources
Classic Catalogue lists books and journals in our print or online collection
Scholarly Journal articles (UPDATE pending)
Find peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal articles through indexed keywords in Article databases with full text links thanks to 
&Library subscriptions.
- SCOPUS search results for...(truss OR beam OR frame) AND equation*try a keyword limit (in lhs limit options) to reduce the set. For example, "Computer simulation" would reduce your results from 66K to 5K
A few important journals
Finite elements in analysis and designCall Number: online journal
Computers & structuresCall Number: online journal
International journal for numerical methods in engineeringCall Number: online journalISBN: 0471124443
A few books at the Library
Introduction to Finite Element Analysis and Design by Call Number: Morisset Library MRT Reserve TA 347 .F5 K56 2009ISBN: 9780470125397Publication Date: 2009
Finite Element Method: its basis and fundamentals by ISBN: 9780080951355Publication Date: 2013 (7th ed.)
The Finite Element Method for Solid and Structural Mechanics by Call Number: Books24/7 ebook collectionISBN: 9780080951362Publication Date: 2014 (7th ed.)
Introduction to Finite Element Analysis Using MATLAB® and Abaqus by Call Number: Ebook (ON ORDER)ISBN: 1466580208Publication Date: 2013-06-10
The Finite Element Method: a practical course by ISBN: 9780080983561Publication Date: 2013 (2nd ed.)
A First Course in Finite Elements by ISBN: 0470035803Publication Date: 2007-06-12See Chapter 11 with Abaqus tutorial
Table of Contents
1 Introduction
2 Direct Approach for Discrete Systems
3 Strong and Weak Forms for One-Dimensional Problems
4 Approximation of Trial Solutions, Weight Functions and Gauss Quadrature for One-Dimensional Problems
5 Finite Element Formulation for One-Dimensional Problems
6 Strong and Weak Forms for Multidimensional Scalar Field Problems
7 Approximations of Trial Solutions, Weight Functions and Gauss Quadrature for Multidimensional Problems
8 Finite Element Formulation for Multidimensional Scalar Field Problems
9 Finite Element Formulation for Vector Field Problems – Linear Elasticity
10 Finite Element Formulation for Beams
11 Commercial Finite Element Program ABAQUS Tutorials
Introduction to Finite Element Analysis Using MATLAB® and Abaqus by ISBN: 9781466580206Publication Date: 2013-06-10
Finite Element Method by ISBN: 9780750658669Publication Date: 2003-05-28This ebook has a chapter #13 called Using ABAQUS
Standards
ASCE, ASTM and IEEE Standards are available through uOttawa's subscription.
Other standards can be located through online catalogues but must often be purchased.
- ASCE StandardsThe American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) describes these standards as "promoting safety, reliability, productivity and efficiency". Includes over 80 titles available online either in book or chapter format.
- ASTM Compass Standards Complete Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFulltext of Standards are available in our ASTM subscription.
Search results for:"finite element methods" AND "plane strain"
- IEEE Xplore StandardsStandards in the topics of Aerospace, Bioengineering, Communication, Networking & Broadcasting, Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems, Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software), Engineered Materials, Dielectrics & Plasmas, Engineering Profession, Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics, General Topics for Engineers (Math, Science & Engineering), Geoscience, Nuclear Engineering, Photonics & Electro-Optics, Power, Energy, & Industry Applications, Robotics & Control Systems, Signal Processing & Analysis, Transportation.
- TechStreet a varied collection of standardsA subscription including a few online standards from CSA, AASHTO & ASHRAE (the titles in this collection may vary from year to year). You must install FileOpen to view documents from TechStreet.
- Standards Council of CanadaFull standards must be purchased. Sample search result
FAQ
- Citation LinkerSearch for an article from a citation or reference
- Make an off-campus linkFor a DOI or permanent URL
Finite element sofware
- ABAQUSNo recent manuals or books can be purchased from this software company. If you come across any, please advise me.
One 2013 ebook in our library collection is Introduction to Finite Element Analysis Using MATLAB® and Abaqus - OpenSeesThe Open System for Earthquake Engineering Simulation
- Finite Element Analysis Software VecTorUniversity of Toronto