Communication and Media Studies

Communication, Cultural and Media Studies Now in its fifth edition, this book offers clear explanations of key concepts, showing where they came from, what they are used for, and why they provoke discussion or disagreement.

Cultural Theory : the Key Concepts Now in its second edition, this book is an up-to-date and comprehensive survey of over 350 of the key terms central to cultural theory today.

Dictionary of Critical Theory This is the most wide-ranging and up-to-date dictionary of critical theory available, covering the whole range of critical theory, including the Frankfurt school, cultural materialism, gender studies, literary theory, hermeneutics, historical materialism, and sociopolitical critical theory.

Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory Now thoroughly updated and revised, this new edition provides an authoritative and accessible guide to modern ideas in the broad interdisciplinary fields of cultural and critical theory.

Dictionary of Film Studies Offering exhaustive and authoritative coverage, this book is written by experts in the field and covers terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism; national, international, and transnational cinemas; film history, movements, and genres; film industry organizations and practices; and key technical terms and concepts.

Dictionary of Journalism This book covers terminology relating to the practice, business, and technology of journalism, as well as its concepts and theories, organizations and institutions, publications, and key events. Related topic areas are covered where they impact on or offer explanations of journalism: for example, in law and sociology. There is also a chronology of developments in journalism.

Dictionary of Media and Communication This book offers points of connection between communication and media and covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, social media, and nonverbal communication.

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies This new edition provides a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.

Key Concepts in Media and Communications This book covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.

The Media Studies Toolkit In this critical primer, the author introduces newcomers to the key concepts, issues, and vocabulary of media studies.The book examines topics from text and audience to citizenship and consumerism, drawing on a myriad of examples of media old and new.

SAGE Dictionary of Cultural Studies Containing over 200 entries on key concepts and theorists, this book provides a guide to the terrain of cultural studies.