Key Sources for Current News
- FactivaCanadian and foreign newspapers, magazines, reports and a selection of broadcast transcripts.
- Eureka.ccCanadian and European newspapers in French, and Ontario sources in English.
- Canadian Major DailiesCanadian newspapers in English.
- PressReaderRecent issues (90 days at the most) of major international newspapers.
- Financial TimesPlease register with your University of Ottawa email for access.
Sources for Historical Newspapers
Canada
- Digitized Indigenous Newspapers (National Heritage Digitization Strategy)Ha-Shilth-Sa (1974-2022), Windspeaker (1986-2015), Turtle Island News (2001-2013) and Nunatsiaq News (1976-1978).
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersIncludes Globe and Mail, Ottawa Citizen, and Toronto Star.
International
- Rand Daily Mail 1902-1985 » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
- Belgica Press (1814-1970)Belgian dailies in Dutch, French and German.
- Deutsche ZeitungsportalGerman historic newspapers (1671-1950)
- EastView [Russian Press]Includes Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991).
- Google News Archive »Digitized archives of newspapers, some dating back to 1700s.
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de MéxicoMexican newspapers and magazines (1722-2006)
- Imperial Russian Newspapers (1782-1918)East View’s Global Press Archive (GPA) program
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (1807-1972)East View’s Global Press Archive (GPA) program
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949)East View’s Global Press Archive (GPA) program
- Médias 19Journaux francophones du 19e siècle disponibles sous formats numériques
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (1870-2019)East View’s Global Press Archive (GPA) program
- NewsVault (1604-2013) »British newspapers
- Papers Past (1839-1950)New Zealand, incl. Māori newspapers.
- RetroNewsAccess to French-language newspapers published between 1777 and 1959. Create an account to access full text.
- Southeast Asian Newspapers (1831-1992)East View’s Global Press Archive (GPA) program
- World Newspaper Archive (1800-1922) »Digitized Latin American, and African newspapers.
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966 » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowA collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century.
- ZEFYS (1617-1946)Newspapers from Germany and foreign newspapers in German language.
Media Ownership
- Who Owns a Newspaper in Canada?Source: News Media Canada
- Who Owns a Newspaper in the United States?Source: UNC School of Media and Journalism
- Media LandscapesSource: European Journalism Centre
- Media Compass: A Companion to International Media LandscapesA reference book covering 45 countries worldwide
Other Relevant Sources
- Annual Register: A Record of World EventsYear-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758.
- Canadian Periodical Index - CPI.QCanadian magazines (1980-present).
- CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs)Current events database (1933-present).
- Conference Board of CanadaResearch reports, forecasting and economic analysis, e.g. Canada’s Telecommunications Industry.
- The ConversationAn independent source of news and views, from the academic and research community, delivered direct to the public.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsArchive of 20th Century news from around the world.
- Hill TimesCanada’s politics and government newsweekly.
- Independent VoicesA collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals (1951-2016), drawn from the special collections of libraries in the U.S., Canada and the U.K.
- iPoliticsDaily news, analysis and opinion on Canadian politics.
- ProQuest One BusinessLocal and regional U.S. business newspapers.
- RepèreFrench-language, general interest and specialized periodicals in all branches of knowledge.
- The Wire ReportLatest info on Canadian telecom and media.
- World News Digest (Facts on File)Major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
- World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966Full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.
Changer
This research guide by Téa Rokolj is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
