Research Methods - Communication and Media Studies - Guides de recherche

Consult the following resources for guidance on research methods:

Communication Methods and Measures
A journal dedicated to research methodology.
Computational Communication Research
A journal for communication scientists with an interest in and focus on computational methods.
SAGE Research Methods
Resources that help you explore concepts, understand methodologies and design research projects.
Questions de communication
Une revue portant sur des concepts ou des méthodes utilisés dans les travaux traitant de communication.

For additional resources in French, consult the page Manuels.

Applied Communication Research Methods Covering major methodologies such as surveys, experiments, focus groups, in-depth interviews, content analysis, and others, the book takes the reader through the research process from beginning to end. The text continues to help students link the research methods they learn to practical contexts through its activities and features, which include Voices From Industry boxes written by practitioners that give insight into application of methods; Steps to Success research review checklists; and numerous end-of-chapter activities to reinforce concepts.
ISBN: 9781003316831
Audience Research Methodologies: Between Innovation and Consolidation This edited volume aims at contributing to the development of the repertoire of methods and methodologies for audience research by reviewing and exemplifying approaches that have been stimulated by the changing conditions and practices of audiences. The contributions address a range of issues and approaches related to the diversification, integration and triangulation of methods for audience research, to the gap between the researched and the researchers, to the study of online social networks, and to the opportunities brought about by Web 2.0 technologies as research tools.
ISBN: 9780415827355
Content Analysis This book offers an overview of the variation within content analysis, along with detailed descriptions of three approaches found in the contemporary literature: basic content analysis, interpretive content analysis, and qualitative content analysis.
ISBN: 9780190215491
Craft of Criticism: Critical Media Studies in Practice With contributions from thirty leading media scholars, this collection provides a comprehensive overview of the main methodologies of critical media studies. Chapters address various methods of textual analysis, as well as reception studies, policy studies, production studies, and contextual, multi-method approaches, like intertextuality and cultural geography. Film and television are at the heart of the collection, which also addresses emergent technologies and new research tools in such areas as software studies, gaming, and digital humanities. Each chapter includes an intellectual history of a particular method or approach, a discussion of why and how it was used to study a particular medium or media, relevant examples of influential work in the area, and an in-depth review of a case study drawn from the author’s own research.
ISBN: 9781315879970
Data Journalism Handbook 1 This book is intended to be a useful resource for anyone who thinks that they might be interested in becoming a data journalist, or dabbling in data journalism.
Data Journalism Handbook 2 What is data journalism? What is it for? What might it do? What opportunities and limitations does it present? Who and what is involved in making and making sense of it? This book is a collaborative experiment responding to these and other questions.
The Datafied Society: Studying Culture through Data This book provides students from the humanities in general (and media studies in particular) with a comprehensive overview of data practices relevant to media researchers. The book contains a broad overview of methods available, most prominently so-called Cultural Analytics and digital methods.
ISBN: 9789462981362
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being.
ISBN: 9781786998163
Doing Academic Research: A Practical Guide to Research Methods and Analysis Rather than a book about research, this is a practical guide to doing research. It guides budding researchers along the process of developing an effective workflow, where to go for help, and how to actually complete the project. The book addresses diversity in abilities, interest, discipline, and ways of knowing by focusing not just on the process of conducting any one method in detail, but also on the ways in which someone might choose a research method and conduct it successfully. Finally, it emphasizes accessibility and approachability through real-world examples, key insights, tips, and tricks from active researchers.
ISBN: 9780429263552
Film and Television Analysis: An Introduction to Methods, Theories, and Approaches This book is especially designed to introduce undergraduate students to the most important qualitative methodologies used to study film and television. The methodologies covered include: ideological analysis auteur theory genre theory semiotics and structuralism psychoanalysis and apparatus theory feminism postmodernism cultural studies (including reception and audience studies) contemporary approaches to race, nation, gender, and sexuality. With each chapter focusing on a distinct methodology, students are introduced to the historical developments of each approach, along with its vocabulary, significant scholars, key concepts and case studies.
ISBN: 9781136473883
Handbook of Applied Communication Research This handbook addresses a wide array of contemporary communication issues. Volume one introduces ACR (Applied Communication Research ), explores what is possible in the field, and examines theoretical perspectives, organizational communication, risk and crisis communication, and media, data, design, and technology. The second volume focuses on real-world communication topics such as health and education communication, legal, ethical, and policy issues, and volunteerism, social justice, and communication activism.
ISBN: 9781119399858
Handbook of Comparative Communication Research This book offers an extensive and interdisciplinary discussion of the general approach of comparative research, as well as prospects, problems, and applications in crucial sub-fields of communications. The first part of the volume charts the state-of-the art research in the field; the second section introduces relevant areas of communication studies where the comparative approach has been successfully applied in recent years; the third part offers an analytical review of conceptual and methodological issues; and the last section proposes a roadmap for future research.
ISBN: 9780203149102
Handbook of Media and Communication Research: Qualitative and Quantitative Methodologies This book comprises three main elements: historical accounts of the development of key concepts and research traditions; systematic reviews of media organizations, discourses, and users, as well as of the wider social and cultural contexts of communication; and practical guidelines with sample studies, taking readers through the different stages of a research process and reflecting on the social uses and consequences of research.
ISBN: 9781138492905
Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis This book draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process—problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation.
ISBN: 9781610448864
Innovative Methods in Media and Communication Research This book engages with the substantial need to rethink established methods to research acute changes in the media environment. It gathers chapters dedicated to the multifacetedness and liveliness of emerging methods – from lifelogging and ethnography to digital methods and visualization – while embedding them in the rich history of interdisciplinary empirical research.
ISBN: 9783319407005
Literature Review and Research Design: A Guide to Effective Research Practice This book looks at literature review in the process of research design, and how to develop a research practice that will build skills in reading and writing about research literature—skills that remain valuable in both academic and professional careers. Literature review is approached as a process of engaging with the discourse of scholarly communities that will help graduate researchers refine, define, and express their own scholarly vision and voice. This orientation on research as an exploratory practice, rather than merely a series of predetermined steps in a systematic method, allows the researcher to deal with the uncertainties and changes that come with learning new ideas and new perspectives.
ISBN: 9780429285660
Palgrave Handbook of Methods for Media Policy Research This book discusses the steps involved in conducting research, from deciding on a topic, to writing a report and everything in between and, furthermore, deals with a wide variety of qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection and analysis.
ISBN: 9783030160654
Professional and Practitioner's Guide to Public Relations Research, Measurement, and Evaluation To help you keep up to speed with the exciting changes and developments in communication theory and practice, this book will provide you with the necessary understanding of the problems and promises of public relations research, measurement, and evaluation. As a public relations professional, this book will act as a guide to effective use of methods, measures, and evaluation in providing grounded evidence of the success (or failure) of public relations campaigns.
ISBN: 9781631577628
Quantitative Research Methods in Communication The authors provide a detailed guide to quantitative methods and statistical analysis, showing how researchers can engage with social justice issues in systematic, rigorous, ethical, and meaningful ways. This new edition includes a new chapter on writing literature reviews and better aligns with the stages of quantitative research as well as the changing technologies that are available for researchers to both study and use in their work. It includes updated real-world case studies, interviews with scholar-activists, and definitions of key concepts as well as a deeper focus on ethics, social media, computational social sciences, data analytics, and data visualization techniques.
ISBN: 9781003459453
Research Methods in Health Communication This volume provides an essential roster of primary research methods as they apply to health communication inquiry. Chapters cite or use examples from allied health areas—nursing, public health, sociology, medicine—to demonstrate the breadth of health communication studies.
ISBN: 9780203115299
Research Methods in Intercultural Communication This book introduces and contextualizes the most important methodological issues in the field for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students. Examples of these issues are which paradigms and how to research multilingually, interculturally and ethnically.
ISBN: 9781118837436
SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods This book spans the entire research process, from data collection to analysis and interpretation.
ISBN: 9781529782943
SAGE Sourcebook of Advanced Data Analysis Methods for Communication Research This book provides an introductory treatment of various advanced statistical methods applied to research in the field of communication. Written by authors who use these methods in their own research, each chapter gives a non-technical overview of what the method is and how it can be used to answer communication-related questions or aide the researcher dealing with difficult data problems.
ISBN: 9781452272054
Screen Media: Analysing Film and Television The technical terminology, theoretical approaches and analytical skills offered provide an important foundation for screen analysis, as well as opening up avenues of critical engagement, interpretation and insight. In addition, the authors investigate the processes of audience reception and issues of realism and context, and analyse the socio-cultural and political implications of audio-visual narratives.
ISBN: 9781003117230
Understanding Communication Research Methods Examining quantitative, qualitative, and critical research methods, this new edition helps undergraduate students better grasp the theoretical and practical uses of method by clearly illustrating practical applications. The book features all the main research traditions within communication, including online methods, and provides level-appropriate applications of the methods through theoretical and practical examples and exercises, including new sample student papers that demonstrate research methods in action.
ISBN: 9781315167664

Systematic Reviews
A step-by-step guide to systematic reviews
Covidence
A guide on a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews

Changer

Français

This research guide by Téa Rokolj is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0