Research consultations available!
Country Information
- CIA World FactbookComprehensive county information published by the CIA, including background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Also includes an entry for "the World".
- Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFind demographic, political, economic, and business information available for most countries of the world. Retrieve high-quality reports from publishers such as Business Monitor International, IHS Global, and Marketline.
TIP: To find a country report, type the country name in the search box and select the field "GE Geographic Terms". Scroll down to Search Options > Limit Your Results > Publication Type > Select "Country Report". See for example: Sample search
- ProQuest One Business » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Find academic articles, news, trade journals, books, and more.
TIP: To find a country report, use the "Advanced Search" to search for your country by name using the "Location" field. Under "Document Type" select "Country Report".
- Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform. Analyses industry trend data, market sizes and market shares from countries around the world. Generate industry, population and economic reports at the country level.
Find country reports: Search for your country and then select "View all" under "Analysis". Look for PEST Analysis, Economy Finance and Trade, and Business Dynamics.
- Observatory of Economic ComplexityExplore international trade with dynamic visualizations. Under "Reports," click on Country, Product or Country to Country for detailed breakdowns of imports and exports.
Data and Statistics
- UNdataComprehensive international statistical database covering all countries and all areas.
- UN StatisticsGlobal statistical information compiled and disseminated by the UN Statistics Division
- UNCTADstatStatistics and reports of UN Conference on Trade and Development. Include Productive Capacities Index and country profiles.
- ILOSTATThe ILO Department of Statistics is the focal point to the United Nations for labour statistics. Obtain free and open access relevant, timely and comparable labour statistics
- OHCHR DatabasesDatabases related to human rights from the United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner.
- Human Development ReportsThe Human Development Index from the UN Development Programme is a summary measure of average achievement in key dimensions of human development: a long and healthy life, being knowledgeable and have a decent standard of living. The HDI is the geometric mean of normalized indices for each of the three dimensions.
Indonesia | Malaysia | Vietnam
- World Bank DataBankProvides access to the World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Gender Statistics (GenderStats), Health Nutrition & Population Statistics (HNP) and Global Economic Monitor (GEM) databases.
- World Bank Open DataVery user-friendly access and charting capabilities for World Bank data.
- Worldwide Governance IndicatorsThe WGI project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, and Control of Corruption (via the World Bank)
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)Popular data include: World Economic Outlook; IMF Data Mapper; and IMF Finances
- World Trade Organization DatabasesAccess WTO stats, tariff analysis and publications.
- OECD StatisticsOECD's comprehensive statistical service, providing cross-database searching and comparisons, table merging and customization, and downloading of statistical tables and metadata.
- International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe Researcher's Datasets from PRS Group provide annual weighted averages from 1984 to the present for Political, Economic, Financial and Composite Risk in 145 countries.
Sociocultural Information
- Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform.
Find consumer information: Select the Consumer tab to generate reports on households, income & expenditure, digital consumers, lifestyles and population for countries. Under Lifestyles are consumer behaviour and consumer values reports for most countries.
- Statista » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowUse the Consumer Insights tab to access data and analysis from the Statista Global Consumer Survey. Create your own custom data cross tables for your selected country.
- Hofstede CentreA tool for exploring the cultural dimensions within a country or comparing several countries.
- World Values Survey
The World Values Survey is a worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change. It is conducted by a network of social scientist at leading universities all around world.
TIP: To quickly generate a table comparing survey responses across selected countries, select "Data and Documentation" and then "Online Analysis".
- The Culture Map (Erin Meyer)Links to relevant articles and resources. If links lead to a paywall, please check to see if uOttawa Library has access. The Country Mapping tool is available for a fee.
Reports and Research
- World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
- IMF E-libraryStatistical yearbooks, manuals, guides, books, working papers, periodicals, proceedings, studies and annual reports about world economies and activities of the International Monetary Fund.
See also the IMF web site
See also Regional Economic Outlook | Navigating Waves of New Variants: Pandemic Resurgence Slows the Recovery - OECD iLibraryFull text of books, reports, statistics and articles from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
See also the OECD web site
See also the OECD better life index - Transparency InternationalTransparency International works towards ending corruption. Click on Countries to view country-level ratings.
- Asia Pacific Foundation of CanadaThis group provides high-quality and timely information, insights, and perspectives on Canada-Asia relations, including policy considerations and business intelligence for stakeholders across the Asia Pacific.
- Index of Economic FreedomAnnual index and ranking created by the Heritage Foundation to measure economic freedom factors in categories such as Rule of Law, Government Size, Open Markets and Regulatory Efficiency.
- Human Rights WatchReports on international human rights issues.
- Freedom HouseA US-funded NGO that conducts research and advocacy on human rights, democracy and human rights. Explore their reports or the country pages.
Legal & Regulatory Information
- GlobaLex Foreign Law ResearchCountry guides to foreign legal systems maintained by information specialists at NYU Hauser Global Law School Program. Find information about the country's legal system, including where to find case law and legislation.
- Guide to Law Online - Law Library of CongressLinks to information sources for foreign constitutions and executive, judicial and legislative branches of government. Select your country under "Foreign Law".
- LexMundi Country GuidesFree "doing business in" country guides designed for corporate counsels and compiled by LexMundi members, who are local independent law firms.
Specialized Search Engines
- IGO Search EngineSearch for documents found on web sites of a multitude of Intergovernmental organizations.
- NGO Search EngineSearch for documents found on web sites of a multitude of non-governmental organizations.
White papers & consulting firms
Consulting firms such as Deloitte, McKinsey, EY, PwC, etc., think tanks, or other organizations often publish economic forecasts, articles, industry reports and survey results on specific countries or region. Try searching for the name of the country + a relevant firm in a search engine to pull up these kinds of results. In Google, also try adding filetype:pdf to the end of your search query to pull up documents posted online as PDFs. This often retrieves documents like reports or white papers.
Tax Information -- corporate tax information for various countries is sometimes available from consulting firms, for example:
- Deloitte's Tax Guides and Highlights
- PwC's Worldwide Tax Summaries Online
Books and Reference Works
Books
The Economy and Business Environment of VietnamCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020The book then provides an overview of Vietnam's economic policy, with historical background covering reunification, attempts at a command economy, and finally renovation with Doi Moi and recent developments. Further chapters cover privatization and the expansion of the private sector, participation in global value chains, and the peculiarities of marketing and finance in Vietnam. As an edited volume with chapters written by Vietnamese scholars across economics, history, and business, this book is critical reading for researchers studying Vietnam and for businesses interested in expanding into Asia.
Doing Business in ASEAN MarketsPublication Date: 2016The authors of this important book analyse the pitfalls and risks of doing business in ASEAN countries that are mostly absent in Western markets, covering various strategic, external, operational, and legal-cultural challenges for international companies. Doing Business in ASEAN Emerging Markets crucially addresses how to resolve those barriers. Encompassing issues of governance and leadership standards, the authors present case studies and practical solutions underpinned by academic research. Helping executives learn how to implement high international standards and maintain sensitivity to socio-cultural and political Asian contexts, the book highlights the need to create an international diverse and unified leadership team that will take better decisions and effectively deal with risks, and apply best corporate governance practices within an Asian context.
ASEAN Law and Regional IntegrationCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2020Drawing together contributions from a range of key thinkers in the field, the editors present the legal and policy-making issues implicated in the practical implementation of Southeast Asia's single market and its regime for the free movement of goods, services, foreign investment, and cross-border labor. This book is highly relevant to students, scholars, and policy-makers with an interest in ASEAN Law and regional policy, and to Southeast Asian studies in general.
Charting a Sustainable Future of ASEAN in Business and Social SciencesPublication Date: 2020Proceedings of the 3ʳᵈ International Conference on the Future of ASEAN (ICoFA) 2019 -- covers multiple topics
Corporate Social Responsibility, Public Relations and Community DevelopmentCall Number: OnlineDiverse in economic development, political and mass media systems, the countries in Southeast Asia cast a unique light on the parallels between development-cum-participative communication and corporate social responsibility. In our globalized environments, knowledge of power, culture and the colonial histories that influence and shape business and governance practices are increasingly important. Focusing on six countries—Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam—the book discusses how public relations (PR) and corporate social responsibility (CSR) discourse are constructed, interpreted, communicated and enacted in this diverse emerging region.
Find Books in Omni
Find books and articles in the library catalogue by using the suggested terms to search by subject in Omni:
- International trade
- International business enterprises
- Business enterprises -- [country name]
- Politics and government -- [country name]
- Social conditions -- [country name]
- [country name] -- environmental conditions
Journals
- Asia Pacific Business ReviewAcademic Journal - "The growth of the Asia Pacific region and the rising presence of its multinationals in world markets has raised a number of questions about the origins of national economic success. Asia Pacific Business Review addresses these key issues and draws together the lessons of the analysis of culture, economies, history, politics and societies in the area, in order to explore business-related phenomena in the Asia Pacific countries, both in their general and specific contexts."
>> Search for keywords within journal or browse recent editions. - Journal of Asia-Pacific BusinessAcademic Journal: "In the Journal of Asia-Pacific Business, you will find articles and feature sections that provide a pragmatic view of the business environment in this dynamic region. This essential resource offers readers a good blend of descriptive, conceptual, and theoretical articles dealing with current topics. The journal will interest academic professionals and corporate managers who wish to broaden their understanding of international business and the Asia-Pacific region."
>> Search for keywords or browse recent issues. - Asia Pacific Journal of ManagementAcademic journal: "The Asia Pacific Journal of Management publishes original manuscripts on management and organizational research in the Asia Pacific region, encompassing Pacific Rim countries and mainland Asia. APJM focuses on the extent to which each manuscript addresses matters that pertain to the most fundamental question: "What determines organization success?" We seek to publish empirical or conceptual research which improves a broad understanding of this issue. APJM endeavors to be the major vehicle for exchange of ideas and research among management scholars within or interested in the broadly defined Asia Pacific region."
>> Search for keywords within journal or browse isses.
Popular Business and Management Periodicals
Browse to a specific date or search for keywords in these full-text publications.
- Financial TimesCreate a personal FT account using your uOttawa email address to benefit from the full features of our account, such as creating reading lists and following topics.
Can't find the publication you are looking for? Use the Library's "Journal Search"
Check for access to publications (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals) by looking for the titles in Journal Search. Depending on the source, full-text access might be available through uOttawa Library subscriptions!
Cite Your Sources in Chicago Style
- The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineOfficial website of CMoS.
- Purdue OWL - Chicago Manual of Style 17th EditionDetailed online guide for the CMoS developed by Purdue University Online Writing Lab.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by ISBN: 9780226430577Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Manage Your Citations with Zotero
Zotero is a free, multilingual, easy-to-use, yet sophisticated, tool that helps you collect, organize, cite and share your research sources.
To use Zotero, you must first download and install it on your computer (compatible with Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems). Be sure to close Microsoft Word or OpenOffice before installing.
Once Zotero is installed, you need to add the Zotero connector for your browser (compatible with Chrome, Firefox and Opera).
Additional installation instructions are available.
The following guides have been developed by the Library:
- Zotero GuideLast updated: 2023-06-01
The Library has developed a step-by-step online tutorial that explains many features:
- How to use Zotero
Last updated: 2022-11-01
