Bibliothécaire de recherche | Research Librarian
Country Information
- Business Source Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Find academic articles, news, trade publications, as well as demographic, political, economic, and business information available for most countries of the world. Retrieve high-quality reports from publishers such as Business Monitor International, IHS Global, and Marketline.
TIP: To find a country report, type the country name in the search box and select the field " GE Geographic Terms". Scroll down to Search Options > Limit Your Results > Publication Type > Select "Country Report".
- CIA World FactbookComprehensive county information published by the CIA, including background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Also includes an entry for "the World".
- Country Commercial Guides (U.S. International Trade Administration)The Commercial Guides provided by the U.S. International Trade Administration cover market challenges and opportunities, investment climate, political and economic environment, and more.
TIP: Look for the Investment Climate Statement for in-depth coverage of political, regulatory, and other risks.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
EIU Viewpoint combines expert political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data.
TIP: Under "Reports," click on Country, Product or Country to Country for detailed breakdowns of imports and exports. Select your country from "Geographies" in the top level menu. From the country menu, click on "Reports" to consult the 5-year Forecast, Business Environment and Long-term Forecast, and Regulatory Environment reports.
- GlobalEdgeResource developed by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The "Country Insights" section provides information on the business climate, news, history, political structure, economic landscape, and statistical data for 201 countries.
- Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform. Analyses industry trend data, market sizes and market shares from countries around the world. Contains long historic and forecast data series, and allows for comparison of data across countries.
Find country reports: Search for your country and then select "View all" under "Analysis". Look for PEST Analysis, Economy Finance and Trade, and Business Dynamics.Find consumer information:Select the Consumer tab to generate reports on households, income & expenditure, digital consumers, lifestyles and population for countries. Under Lifestyles are consumer behaviour and consumer values reports for most countries.
- ProQuest One Business » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Find academic articles, news, trade journals, books, and more.
TIP: To find a country report, use the "Advanced Search" to search for your country by name using the "Location" field. Under "Document Type" select "Country Report".
- Observatory of Economic ComplexityExplore international trade with dynamic visualizations. Under "Reports," click on Country, Product or Country to Country for detailed breakdowns of imports and exports.
Sociocultural Information
- Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform.
Find consumer information: Select the Consumer tab to generate reports on households, income & expenditure, digital consumers, lifestyles and population for countries. Under Lifestyles are consumer behaviour and consumer values reports for most countries.
- Statista » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowUse the Consumer Insights tab to access data and analysis from the Statista Global Consumer Survey. Create your own custom data cross tables for your selected country.
- Hofstede CentreA tool for exploring the cultural dimensions within a country or comparing several countries.
- World Values Survey
The World Values Survey is a worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change. It is conducted by a network of social scientist at leading universities all around world.
TIP: To quickly generate a table comparing survey responses across selected countries, select "Data and Documentation" and then "Online Analysis".
- The Culture Map (Erin Meyer)Links to relevant articles and resources. If links lead to a paywall, please check to see if uOttawa Library has access. The Country Mapping tool is available for a fee.
Country Rankings & Indices
- GlobalEdgeUse the Global Insights tool to select a country profile. Then consult the Risk and Indices tabs to see rating and ranking aggregated from third party organizations. Note: Always check the original source for the methodology, currency and accuracy of the rating information.
- Human Development IndexThe Human Development Index from the UN Development Programme is a summary measure of average achievement in key dimensions of human development: a long and healthy life, being knowledgeable and have a decent standard of living. The HDI is the geometric mean of normalized indices for each of the three dimensions.
- Human Rights WatchA non-profit organization that seeks to investigate and report on human rights abuses globally and advocate on international human rights issues. Select the "Countries" tab to see a summary page of information available on your country, including blog posts, videos and reports. Look for the annual "World Report" that summarizes human rights issues as well as climate change policies.
- Transparency InternationalTransparency International is an independent, non-governmental, not-for-profit that works towards ending corruption. Select the "Countries" tab to view country-level scores on their annual "Corruption Perceptions Index" and "Global Corruption Barometer".
Trade Relations with Canada
- Global Affairs Canada: Information by country and territoryBrowse by country to open the country profile page where you will find information on "Doing business in [name of country]" and "Canada - [name of country] relations".
- Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada - Trade Data Online
Trade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
TIP:Select "Search by Industry" to get started. Then add your country as the "Trading partner". You can view industry totals or select a specific industry to view import/export data.
Data & Statistics
- Statista » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics, market research, and business intelligence portal. Provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German and Spanish. Includes over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks, and consumer market outlooks.
- UNCTADStatSelect a country to view a dashboard of key indicators, including international trade and economic trends.
- UNdataSelect a country to view a summary table of key indicators, including General Information, Economic indicators, Social indicators, and Environment and infrastructure indicators.
- United Nations (UN) Sustainable Development Goals Indicators DatabaseSelect a country to consult an overview of indicators for 17 Sustainable Development Goals, covering education, innovation, jobs, the environment and more.
- World Bank Open DataProvides open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Search by topic, country or indicator.
Search Tips for Omni & Library Databases
Unlike Google, library databases and the library's catalogue and discovery tool Omni don't automatically correct your spelling, find related terms, find all possible word endings, or combine your terms.
Here are some search tips that you can use to find articles and other resources when searching the Library's collection in Omni or using Library databases (such as ProQuest One Business or Business Source Complete):
- Make sure your spelling is correct.
- Think of synonyms and related terms that could be used to describe your topic.
- Combine your terms using Boolean operators (see below).
- Refine your search by using special characters, such as quotation marks (see below).
- Use the search fields in the Advanced Search page.
- Use search filters, such as publication date, subject, and type of resource. These are usually found on the left-hand menu of your search results.
Boolean Operators
Basic Search Operators for Omni and Library Databases
| Symbol | Description | Action | Example |
|
AND |
Boolean operator |
|
economy AND finance |
|
OR |
Boolean operator |
Searches for articles that contain at least one of the terms. |
enterprise OR business OR corporation |
|
" " |
Quotation Marks |
Search for articles that contain an exact phrase. |
"corporate social responsibility" |
| * | Asterisk | Add to the root of a word to find alternate word endings. For example, use manag* to retrieve results with manage, manages, managing, management, managerial, manager, managers etc. |
manag*
|
|
( ) |
Parentheses |
Groups terms together to indicate the order in which the database should process any Boolean operators used. Terms in parentheses are processed first. If you do not use parentheses, most databases will process AND before OR. |
(management OR business) AND consulting |
Citing Your Sources in APA Style
- APA 7th Edition: Style and Grammar GuidelinesThe style and grammar guidelines pages present information about APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition.
- Purdue OWL - APA 7th EditionDetailed online guide for APA 7th Edition developed by Purdue University Online Writing Lab.
- APA style Citation TutorialThe APA Style Citation Tutorial is created by staff at the University of Alberta Library. The tutorial covers why it is important to use citations, elements of common source types, and how to create reference and in-text citations based on the 7th edition APA guidelines.
- APA 7th edition citation for business sourcesExample citations for a wide variety of business sources formatted in APA 7th edition style.