Country Profiles
- Business Source Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Find academic articles, news, trade publications, as well as demographic, political, economic, and business information available for most countries of the world. Retrieve high-quality reports from publishers such as Business Monitor International, IHS Global, and Marketline.
TIP: To find a country report, type the country name in the search box and select the field " GE Geographic Terms". Scroll down to Search Options > Limit Your Results > Publication Type > Select "Country Report".
- CIA World FactbookComprehensive county information published by the CIA, including background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Also includes an entry for "the World".
- Country Commercial Guides (U.S. International Trade Administration)The Commercial Guides provided by the U.S. International Trade Administration cover market challenges and opportunities, investment climate, political and economic environment, and more.
TIP: Look for the Investment Climate Statement for in-depth coverage of political, regulatory, and other risks.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
EIU Viewpoint combines expert political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data.
TIP: Under "Reports," click on Country, Product or Country to Country for detailed breakdowns of imports and exports. Select your country from "Geographies" in the top level menu. From the country menu, click on "Reports" to consult the 5-year Forecast, Business Environment and Long-term Forecast, and Regulatory Environment reports.
- GlobalEdgeResource developed by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The "Country Insights" section provides information on the business climate, news, history, political structure, economic landscape, and statistical data for 201 countries.
- Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform. Analyses industry trend data, market sizes and market shares from countries around the world. Contains long historic and forecast data series, and allows for comparison of data across countries.
Find country reports: Search for your country and then select "View all" under "Analysis". Look for PEST Analysis, Economy Finance and Trade, and Business Dynamics.Find consumer information:Select the Consumer tab to generate reports on households, income & expenditure, digital consumers, lifestyles and population for countries. Under Lifestyles are consumer behaviour and consumer values reports for most countries.
- ProQuest One Business » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Find academic articles, news, trade journals, books, and more.
TIP: To find a country report, use the "Advanced Search" to search for your country by name using the "Location" field. Under "Document Type" select "Country Report".
- Observatory of Economic ComplexityExplore international trade with dynamic visualizations. Under "Reports," click on Country, Product or Country to Country for detailed breakdowns of imports and exports.
Data and Statistics
- OECD.StatAccess OECD’s comprehensive statistical service, providing cross-database searching and comparisons, table merging and customization, and downloading of statistical tables and metadata.
- OECD iLibrary » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFull text of books, reports, statistics and articles from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- Haver AnalyticsFind annual economic statistics and daily market information for Canada and the U.S., G10+ Countries and emerging market countries.
- IMF e-Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowStatistical yearbooks, manuals, guides, books, working papers, periodicals, proceedings, studies and annual reports about world economies and activities of the International Monetary Fund.
- UNdata Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowInternational statistical database covering all countries and all areas. Includes more than 300 time series, with many disaggregated to show underlying distributions
- ILOSTAT DatabaseView and download data and metadata on labour for over 230 countries or territories from ILO (International Labour Organization). **Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari-compatible**
Books
The following are suggested search terms you can use in the Subject field in Search+:
- Business enterprises -- [enter country name here]
- [Enter country neme] -- economic condition
- Politics and government -- [enter country name]
- Social condition -- [enter country name]
- [Enter country name] -- environmental conditions
The Routledge Companion to Business in AfricaCall Number: MRT General HD 2917 .R68 2015Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Research on Global Business OpportunitiesCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781466665514Publication Date: 2015
Other Useful Resources
- CIA – The World FactbookBrowse through this excellent up-to-date source of information, with maps, flags, country statistics, and any travel advisories.
- Global Affairs Canada : Canada's international relationsExplore Canada’s role in international organizations, trade negotiations and sanctions.
- Transparency InternationalThis organization aims to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society. Search "Corruption by country".
- Travel advice and advisories by destinationFind essential information for Canadians abroad.
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)Access international trade publications and statistics, including country profiles.
- World Bank Documents & ReportsDocuments & Reports, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS) contains more than 240,000 publically available World Bank documents. Browse by keyword, country, topic, document type, language or series.
- World Bank Open Knowledge RepositoryThe World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form.
- World Legal Information InstituteFree, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law.