Telfer International Business Live Case Challenge
Welcome to Library Resources for the Telfer International Business Live Case Challenge!
On this page you will find a video with a refresher on how to access Library resources as well as specific instructions on how to use selected databases for your international market analysis during the case challenge.
Here you will also find links to the top recommended Library databases, governmental and non-governmental websites, as well as direct links to relevant research reports.
Note: If you are on campus, please use the secure wi-fi network "eduroam" (NOT uopublic) to access Library resources.
Good luck!
Cheng Yin Zhu and Allison Smith, Research Librarians (Management)
Note to ADM3318/ADM3718 teams:
- Please remember that the company also has access to these sources of information. Your value-added as international business consultants is to use this information in your analyses to make recommendations to company executives.
- This wide array of library resources is provided as helpful input to your work. There is no requirement to use all of these resources.
- In the context of a rapidly shifting global political climate, it is important to note the currency of all information sources consulted and their limitations (i.e. how up-to-date is this information? what may have changed since it was published? what information may be missing?).
Video Introduction to Library Resources
* You must be connected to Office 365 with your uoAccess ID and password to watch this video.
Tip: As a reminder, the Library's live chat service is available Monday-Thursday 10 a.m.– 10 p.m., Friday 10 a.m.– 5 p.m., and weekends 12 p.m.–6 p.m.
Background Information & Statistics
-
CIA World FactbookCountry overviews published by the CIA, including background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Note: Use additional caution when consulting U.S. government sources as information may have been modified to reflect recent policy changes.
What it’s best for: general background info, Political, Environmental, Technological
-
GlobalEdgeResource developed by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The "Country Insights" section provides information on the business climate, including history, government, economy, statistics, trade, culture, risks, and indices (e.g. Corruption Perceptions Index) for 201 countries.
What it’s best for: comparing countries (rankings, risk ratings, indices).How to use: Select a country and browse the categories on the left-hand menu.
Global Edge aggregates content from across the web, so make sure to verify the original source indicated for any rankings/ratings you will rely on.
World Bank Data Dashboards
Find summary statistics on social, economic and demographic indicators by country.
TIP: Add multiple countries in the top search bar to see data presented in side-by-side comparison.
Business Environment
-
Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowEIU Viewpoint combines expert political insights, policy analysis, and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data. Generate your own custom data tables to compare countries across indicators.
What it’s best for: Data, Political, Economic, Legal/Regulatory
How to use:
- Find data: Use the "Data" tab to create custom data tables comparing selected indicators for two or more countries.
- Browse analysis: Select "Geography" from the top menu and then enter your country in the "Search for a geography" bar.
- From your country's landing page, browse the "One-click Report" on the “Essentials" tab as well as the summaries under the Political, Economy, Policy, and Business Environment tabs.
- Find the "Regulatory Environment" report on the "Reports" tab for information on national investment/industry incentives, trade policy (including tariffs and import taxes), intellectual property, and labour laws.
Note: Not all reports or section may be available for all economies.
Japan -
Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowPassport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform. It contains analyst reports on industries, consumers, and market trends, as well as historic and forecast data series, allowing for comparison of data across countries.
What it’s best for: Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Data & Statistics
How to use: Search for the country by name in the main search bar, then browse results under the "STATISTICS" and “ANALYSIS” tab. Alternatively, search individually for the following report types in the main search bar:- PEST Analysis: [country name]
- Business Dynamics: [country name]
- Economy, Finance and Trade: [country name]
Trade Relations & Market Entry Information
-
Global Affairs Canada: Information by country and territoryBrowse by country to open the country profile page where you will find information on "Doing business in [name of country]" and "Canada - [name of country] relations".
• Doing business in Japan
• Doing business in the Republic of Korea
-
Country Commercial Guides (United States International Trade Administration)"Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department and other U.S. agencies' professionals."
Japan
-
Japan External Trade Organization - Setting Up Business• Reports are free of charge but require users to enter information first.
• Includes steps to set up a business in Japan, laws and regulations, and information for market penetration.
• "The Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) is a government-related organization that works to promote mutual trade and investment between Japan and the rest of the world."
• See also: Overview of Industries (Digital Technology, Manufacturing)
South Korea
-
Invest Korea - Industries• Includes industry overviews, "Investment Success Stories," best locations for establishing a company, investment opportunities, and more.
• "Invest KOREA (IK) is a national investment promotion agency established within the Korea Trade-Investment Promotion Agency (KOTRA)."
Reports
-
Global Automotive Consumer Study 2025 (Deloitte)• Preference for type of engine in next vehicle (p. 7)
• Top reasons to choose an EV as next vehicle (p. 7)
• Greatest concern regarding all battery-powered electric vehicles (BEVs) (p. 12)
You may wish to consult reports and filings on sustainability priorities and supply chain management from Japanese and Korean auto manufacturers. These are often found on the Investor Relations pages of the corporate websites. Examples could include:
- Hyundai: Conflict Minerals Report and Sustainability page
- Nissan: Reports and guidelines
- Toyota: Value Chain Collaboration and Conflict Minerals Report
Japan
-
The motor industry of Japan (Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association)Includes attention to the environment, global operations, manufacturing, and more.
-
Japan Autos Report - Q3 2025Includes industry trends, global operations, 10-year forecasts to 2034, SWOT analysis of the auto industry, company profiles, demographic outlook, and more.
-
Electric vehicles in Japan | StatistaEV car sales and usage 2015-2024, by EV type
Consumer attitudes
• Awareness of next-generation vehicles
• Purchasing intention
• Leading reasons to purchase a HEV or BEV in Japan
• Leading concerns about different EVs in Japan -
Automotive Industry in Japan (EIU)Includes market outlook report, production report, market segments, five-year forecast, and recent news about the industry.
-
Industry Profile: Car Manufacturing in Japan (MarketLine)Includes Five Forces analysis, company profiles, domestic and global production and market, competitive landscape, and more.
-
Japan Automotive OEM and Parts (U.S.A International Trade Administration)Discusses opportunities in the EV sector.
South Korea
-
Electric vehicles in South Korea | StatistaEV car registrations 2015-2024, by EV type and brand
Consumer attitudes
• Planned purchase timing
• Purchasing considerations
• Opinions on EV policies -
South Korea Autos Report - Q3 2025Includes industry trends, global operations, 10-year forecasts to 2034, SWOT analysis of the auto industry, company profiles, demographic outlook, and more.
-
Automotive Industry in South Korea (EIU)Includes market outlook report, production report, market segments, five-year forecast, and recent news about the industry.
-
Industry Profile: Car Manufacturing in South Korea (MarketLine)Includes Five Forces analysis, company profiles, domestic and global production and market, competitive landscape, and more.
-
South Korea Electric Vehicles EV Market (U.S.A International Trade Administration)Discusses opportunities in the EV sector and changes in Korean EV policies.
Social & Cultural Dimensions
-
Business sustainability in Asia: Compliance, performance and integrated reporting and assurance
by
ISBN: 9781119502258Publication Date: 2019-02-20Business Sustainability in Asia offers 12 chapters that cover different aspects of business sustainability with a keen focus on its implications in Asia.
Includes: Drivers and Sources of Business Sustainability Initiatives, Financial Economic Dimension, Governance, and Social Dimension for Japan and South Korea. Chapters are divided by topic, not by country. -
Corporate Sustainability in International Comparison
by
ISBN: 3319062271Publication Date: 2014-07-11This book depicts and analyzes the current state of corporate sustainability management and corporate social responsibility (intention, integration, and implementation).
Chapter 9: Japan
Chapter 10: South Korea
-
Cultural relevance in corporate sustainability management: A comparison between Korea and Japan"From the perspective of cultural relevance, this paper investigates the similarities and differences between Korea and Japan in their practices of corporate sustainability."
-
Who drives the green shift? EV and battery policymaking and systemic marginalisation of auto suppliers in South KoreaPrimarily discusses South Korean EV policymaking. Some mentions of Japanese policymaking.
Japan
-
Intercultural Communication in Japan In: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence
by
ISBN: 1452244286Publication Date: 2015-05-08Covers intercultural communication changes and challenges in Japanese society.
South Korea
-
Korean Business Communication
by
ISBN: 9781003108061Publication Date: 2022-10-31Korean Business Communication demonstrates the heuristic value of the research on Korean business communication.
Citation Resources
Styles guides show how to properly format a paper and cite references. Practices vary according to the type of source and the format. Find more information on this page: citation resources.