SciFinder Scholar - Key database
Scifinder Scholar is a database specialized in chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, medicine, materials sciences, pharmaceutical sciences and related disciplines.
SciFinder can only be accessed through an on-campus internet connection or by using the uOttawa VPN (available for staff and graduate students). To access the database SciFinder Scholar you must register for an individual account using your uOttawa e-mail address.
- SciFinder How To GuidesTutorials and help documents on searching in SciFinder.
Search Tips:
- SciFinder uses natural language processing algorithm therefore in place of Boolean operators use conjunctions and prepositions to highlight the relationship between keywords.
- Limit your searches to 2-3 key concepts, you can always refine your search on the results screen
- OR is parenthetical: synthesis (preparation)
- Truncation and wildcard symbols are not used.
- Sample search strategy:
- Shape (morphology) of colloidal nanoparticles (colloidal nanocrystals)
Databases in Chemistry
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 28 million structures, properties and associated information
- Merck Index » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each monograph (record) discusses a single chemical entity or a group of closely-related compounds.
- Organic ReactionsA full text database of important synthetic reactions searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, chemical name, etc…
- Organic SynthesisAn annual collection of procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
- PubChem (NCBI)PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
- Reaxys (Beilstein, Gmelin, Patent Chemistry) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a web based database for searching an extensive collection of organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry data. It enables you to search chemical substances by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys is the merger of 3 chemical databases: Crossfire Beilstein, Crossfire Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database.
- Science of Synthesis » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowScience of synthesis is a reference work that provides a comprehensive and critical selection of reliable organic and organometallic synthetic methods. It evaluated the preparative applicability of the synthetic methods, discusses background information, and provides detailed experimental procedures.
- SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowScopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThis database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.
Databases in Biochemistry
- Biomed Central » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central publishes over 290 open access scientific journals.
- CAB Abstracts » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowN.B. Access to 3 concurrent users. Over 6.3 million article abstracts from 1973 to the present. Includes a growing collection of full-text articles in the areas of applied life sciences, agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
- EMBASE » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
- Medline (Ovid) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowOvid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
- Merck Index » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each monograph (record) discusses a single chemical entity or a group of closely-related compounds.
- PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
- SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowScopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThis database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.