What's on this page
Doing Research in Social Sciences
Research is an iterative and creative process that allows you to answer a research question.
|
Doing research - Main steps
|
|
|
- Preparation of your search (Identifying the key concepts in your research question, finding your keywords, and using the search operators). - Discovery of material (Explore platforms such as our library catalogue, databases, Google Scholar, etc.) - Retrieval of material (Identify books, articles, reports, etc., and evaluate the quality of material found)
- Extraction of useful information (review of the literature)
|
|
For more details on the different steps of research in Social Sciences check the following guide:
What do you need to know before starting?
Some tips to get you started with the right footThe following are key elements you need to reflect on before starting your searches for the material needed.They will help you go in the right direction and save time.Click on the links for more details.Contact your librarian if you have further questions: mguzmang@uottawa.ca |
|
- Understand that information evolves through time (Video) * |
- Learn to choose your sources (Video) |
- Identify the potential producers of the information needed (experts, governments, institutions, NGOs, IGOs, etc.) |
- Not all that is published should be used for or cited in your research paper, evaluate the quality of your sources |
- Not all publications are peer-reviewed |
- You do not always need only peer-reviewed sources, sometimes you need books and government reports. |
- Some sources are only useful for information/exploration/discovery, some sources can be cited in your paper, and some sources should not be used or cited. |
- A sheet of paper is an irreplaceable heuristic tool! Use it before running your searches. |
- See searching as a strategic exploration ** |
- Research is a very personal and creative process |
*Burkhardt, J. M., MacDonald, M. C., & Rathemacher, A. J. (2010). Teaching information literacy: 50 standards-based exercises for college students (2nd ed). American Library Association.
**ACRL. (2015). Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL). http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/ilframework
What type of information do you need?
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
If you have questions, please contact your librarian Majela Guzman : mguzmang@uottawa.ca |
Foster your Information Searching Skills!
Evaluate yourself with this quiz ! The quiz will help you learn more about your strengths and weaknesses in terms of library research.
InfoTrack : Training for Information Literacy
InfoTrack is the online training platform in information literacy of the University of Geneva Library (searching for and selecting documents, sharing and using information ethically). What’s innovative about this training is the choice of video as the teaching medium, and that it is structured in independent modules that give you great freedom and flexibility. This training is built as a series of 25 video episodes that illustrate student experiences related to information literacy skills needed to successfully complete work required for your university studies.
Each video is a challenge, because in only 3 minutes it aims to present, and then solve, a common problem faced by students. The goal of these humorous video scenarios is to help students ‘keep calm’ and solve problems they encounter during their academic work.
The modules are divided into five thematic groups matching key steps in the process of completing an academic assignment: Finding Sources, Making a Research Plan, Evaluating Sources, Writing and Communicating, and Avoiding Plagiarism.
Transferring Information Literacy Practices by ISBN: 9789811377426Publication Date: 2019-06-11This book is divided into four sections: 1. Information Literacy for Life; 2. Searching Strategies, Disciplines and Special Topics; 3. Information Literacy Tools for Evaluating and Utilizing Resources; 4. Assessment of Learning Outcomes. Written by librarians with wide experience in research and services, and a strong academic background in disciplines such as the humanities, social sciences, information technology, and library science, this valuable reference resource combines both theory and practice. In today's ever-changing era of information, it offers students of library and information studies insights into information literacy as well as learning tips they can use for life.
Core Skills for Actionable Professional Communication (By Toronto Metropolitan University)
Michael Dick, Robert Bajko, Rebecca Halliday, Dianne Nubla and Zorianna Zurba
Date Published: 2022
License: CC BY-NC
These five modules teach core professional communication concepts, writing strategies, and social media literacy through professionally produced interactive content and activities developed using a course authoring platform. This content also includes a variety of business communication case studies to meet the specialized needs of business, technical, and other professional communication courses at the post-secondary level. Materials are provided in SCORM format, and each module can be integrated with course shells in any major LMS. The modules are entitled: 1) Guiding the Reader; 2) Strategies and Patterns; 3) Rhetoric and Persuasion; 4) Presentations and Collaboration; and 5) Research Skills and Media Literacies. Topics covered often form part of the core curriculum for introductory applied communication courses taught to students in various programs at Ontario colleges and universities. Materials are provided as OERs under a CC BY-NC licence.
Core Skills for Actionable Professional Communication Modules
Doing research in Social Sciences - Reading suggestions
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by ISBN: 0190847387Publication Date: 2020-08-21The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research, Second Edition presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of the field of qualitative research. Divided into eight parts, the forty chapters address key topics in the field such as approaches to qualitative research (philosophical perspectives), narrative inquiry, field research, and interview methods, text, arts-based, and internet methods, analysis and interpretation of findings, and representation and evaluation. The handbook is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the disciplines, and thecontributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers as well as emerging scholars.
Research Methodology for Social Sciences by ISBN: 1000725782Publication Date: 2019-11-01Research Methodology for Social Sciences provides guidelines for designing and conducting evidence-based research in social sciences and interdisciplinary studies using both qualitative and quantitative data. Blending the particularity of different sub-disciplines and interdisciplinary nature of social sciences, this volume: Provides insights on epistemological issues and deliberates on debates over qualitative research methods; Covers different aspects of qualitative research techniques and evidence-based research techniques, including survey design, choice of sample, construction of indices, statistical inferences and data analysis; Discusses concepts, techniques and tools at different stages of research, beginning with the design of field surveys to collect raw data and then analyse it using statistical and econometric methods.
Interpreting Statistics for Beginners by ISBN: 1000546187Publication Date: 2022-02-24Interpreting Statistics for Beginners teaches readers to correctly read and interpret results of basic statistical procedures as they are presented in scientific literature, and to understand what they can and cannot infer from such results. The first of its kind, this book explains key elements of scientific paradigms and philosophical concepts that the use of statistics is based on and introduces readers to basic statistical concepts, descriptive statistics and basic elements and procedures of inferential statistics. Explanations are accompanied with detailed examples from scientific publications to demonstrate how the procedures are used and correctly interpreted.
Doing a PhD in the Social Sciences by ISBN: 1000398463Publication Date: 2021-07-06Covering the academic and operational aspects of PhD research degree programmes, this accessible yet comprehensive book is an essential guide to navigating through the PhD research journey. Using a mixture of useful information, practical strategies and valuable advice, this book helps readers through the process of doing a PhD by providing essential hints and tips on key aspects such as the following: How to start, conduct and manage PhD research Working with your supervisor Writing your thesis Preparing for the viva This is a crucial resource for anyone wanting to know about approaches to research, substantive theories, data analytical techniques, essential research tools and a range of other issues that affect the chances of PhD success and completion. With global case studies and examples, this invaluable guide is a must-read for anyone undertaking a PhD in the social sciences.
Research Skills Self-Assessment Tool
- Research Skills Self-Assessment ToolThis Research Skills Self-Assessment Tool was created to help students and researchers go through the main steps of documentary research in Social Sciences and develop the skills required in the process. We added tips and suggestions that will help you go through the entire process and successfully answer your research question using the right methods and sources. This tool has been created by your librarian Majela Guzman. You can contact her anytime for questions : majelagg@uottawa.ca.
Writing a research question - Toolkit
Key questions answered through videos
Writing and Style Guides
| Academic GPS (University of Ottawa) - Scroll down and find writing resources under 'Learn at your own pace' |
|
Installing and using Zotero (Video Tutorials) |
|
ZoteroBib (Online Tool) |
What the literature says...writing tips
Writing your thesis quickly and well by ISBN: 1788975634Publication Date: 2020This chapter offers steps to help students write their thesis (or dissertation) quickly and well, breaking down the enormous task of writing a thesis into little tasks. Published previously, the steps have already helped numerous doctoral students to complete their thesis. There are ten in total, comprising four writing steps and six rewriting steps.
Thesis and Dissertation Writing in a Second Language by ISBN: 9781351690669Publication Date: 2019-07-25Fully updated and packed with new material, the second edition of Thesis and Dissertation Writing in a Second Language is the ideal guide for non-native speaker students and their supervisors working on writing a thesis or dissertation in English. Considering the purposes of thesis and dissertation of writing alongside writer/reader relationships, this book uses accessible language and practical examples to discuss issues that are crucial to successful thesis and dissertation writing.
Successful Writing for Qualitative Researchers by ISBN: 1000549089Publication Date: 2022-03-30Considering the continuing pressure on researchers to produce high-quality writing in difficult circumstances, this book contains a wealth of information and provides guidance on the nature of qualitative research, the conditions for successful writing, styles of writing, editing your work, preparing for publication, and so much more. Clear, concise, and engaging, this must-read guide is suitable for all those in the social sciences seeking to formulate their qualitative research into writing with maximum effectiveness, including undergraduates, postgraduates, and academics, whether in dissertations, theses, research reports, journal and magazine articles, conference papers or books.
Mental Health Toolkit
Taking care of yourself and your mental health should always be a priority. This toolkit offers resources to support you during your studies and research.
