Government Info - Public and International Affairs - Guides de recherche

Government Information Search Engine

Use this search engine to locate federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal government information in one click. (Special thanks to David Sharp, Carleton University.)

Databases & Specialized Search Engines

Canadian Public Documents Collection » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
A collection of monographs from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. The collection includes all titles in the former Canadian Public Policy Collection and Canadian Health Research Collections.
United Nations Digital Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, key UN publications series, and landmark collections, such as the Index to Proceedings (ITPs), and Oral History interviews.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
See also the World Bank web site.

Parliaments and governments database
ParlGov is a data infrastructure for political science and contains information for all EU and most OECD democracies (37 countries). The database combines approximately 1700 parties, 990 elections (9300 results), and 1600 cabinets (3800 parties).
Parliamentary research service publications in English
Search globally parliamentary research service publications for your policy topic.
OECD iLibrary
Full text of books, reports, statistics and articles from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
See also the OECD web site
See also the OECD better life index
IMF E-library
Statistical yearbooks, manuals, guides, books, working papers, periodicals, proceedings, studies and annual reports about world economies and activities of the International Monetary Fund.
See also the IMF web site
IGO Search Engine
Search for documents found on web sites of a multitude of Intergovernmental organizations.
NGO Search Engine
Search for documents found on web sites of a multitude of non-governmental organizations.

Policy Commons » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a content platform, a repository and harvesting service for fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, NGOs and research institutes. Policy content is presented as a body of literature and offers access to more than 2.4 million documents from over 21,000 organizations: curated, high quality policy reports, blogposts, briefs, analyses, working papers, articles, and datasets.

ACE Electoral Knowledge Network
The ACE Electoral Knowledge Network is the world’s largest online community and repository of electoral knowledge. It provides comprehensive information and specialised advice on any aspect of electoral processes. The foremost aim of ACE, is to foster the integrity of elections and to promote credible, sustainable, professional and inclusive electoral processes throughout the globe.

Regional information and country profiles

Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes country profiles, a data tool and special reports.
BBC News Country Profiles
The World Factbook
PARLINE
Provides information on the structure and working methods of parliamentary chambers.
World Constitutions Illustrated

Government Information

If you are looking for Canadian or foreign government documents, including statistics, databases or Web sites, please consult the subject page on Government Information.

Foreign info by country

The University of Colorado's Government Information Library has created a very thorough and useful guide to Foreign Information by Country. Many resources are freely available while others listed may be restricted to University of Colorado students.

Canadian Government Websites and Databases

Parliament of Canada
Website of the Parliament of Canada. Provides access to debates in the House of Commons and the Senate, as well as biographical information about Members of Parliament and Senators.
Government of Canada Publications
Catalogue of federal publications distributed via Depository Services Program. Search by subject, title, author, department/agency, catalogue number, ISBN, ISSN etc.
Guide to Canadian Ministries since Confederation
The Guide to Canadian Ministries since Confederation provides a detailed list of members of each government ministry in Canada since 1867.
Government of Canada Web Archive
Since 2005, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has collected federal and non-federal web resources in the context of its Web Archiving Program. This website, the Government of Canada Web Archive (GCWA), provides access to archived federal websites.
GALLOP Portal (Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal)
Access to the government publications and select legislative materials found in Canadian legislative and parliamentary libraries.

Canadian Associations

Associations Canada 2023 = Associations du Canada
Associations Canada is a valued reference tool providing the most comprehensive picture of Canada’s non-profit sector. The Canadian organizations and international groups in this edition represent industry, commercial and professional associations, registered charities, and special and common interest organizations. This 44th annual edition includes updates or verification of all major associations, as well as all meetings and conferences. Included are 12,500 awards and publications, and close to 32,000 executive contacts. Each listing presents a detailed association profile, including budget, founding date, scope of activity, licensing body, sources of funding, executive information, full address and complete contact information. Eight indexes offer a variety of ways to search not only for specific associations, but also for specific categories of associations. In addition to association listings, you’ll find several valuable articles.

Public and International Affairs