Encyclopedias, dictionaries and bibliographies
Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and bibliographies will provide you with background information, definitions, or lists of references relating to a particular subject, time period, region, author etc.
- Canadian Encyclopedia (Historica) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe Canadian Encyclopedia is a comprehensive and accurate source of information on Canadian topics and includes contributions from over 5000 scholars and specialists. Text is in both English and French.
- International Studies Encyclopedia Online » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of peer reviewed essays on topics and issues relating to international studies and international relations. Updated twice annually.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a new research tool for the researchers in social sciences and humanities.
- Oxford Reference Online » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowDefinitions from over 100 dictionaries in all subject fields.
- Gale eBooks » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowContains online access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other specialized reference sources.
- SAGE Research Methods » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool offering access to over 100,000 pages of content (journals, books and reference books) to help researchers, faculty, and students explore concepts, understand methodologies, design research projects and write up their research, across all disciplines.
- Sage KnowledgeSearch more than 300 reference titles published by SAGE that focus on politics and international relations.
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIncludes such titles as: Supreme Court Yearbook Series, CQ Press American Government A to Z Series, and Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- The Oxford encyclopedia of empirical international relations theoryThrough over 150 entries by leading scholars, this resource provides an authoritative overview of the central approaches, methodologies, and topics of the field. Its comprehensive examination of both classic and emerging theories underscores the breadth and depth of international relations theory today and is a necessary resource for students and as well as both new and established scholars.
Finding background information through the catalogue
Search in the library's catalogue to find ecyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, and more.
Tip: search for your topic AND a word to describe the type of item you're looking for, such as encyclopedia, dictionary, etc.
For example, if you search for political theory AND encyclopedia, you'll find the following item:
Suggested Links
- How Canadians Govern ThemselvesThe late Senator Eugene A. Forsey originally wrote How Canadians Govern Themselves to answer questions that people just like you had about Canada’s system of government.
Regional Information Websites
Political, economic, social, statistical and/or legal information on any country of the world:
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
