Data, polls, surveys - Political Studies - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Data and Statistics Platforms and Databases

Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily.

UNdata » This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international statistical database covering all countries and all areas. Includes more than 300 time series, with many disaggregated to show underlying distributions. Information is from numerous international data sources
OECD.Stat » This link opens in a new window
OECD's comprehensive statistical service, providing cross-database searching and comparisons, table merging and customization, and downloading of statistical tables and metadata.

Political Data Yearbook interactive
Political Data Yearbook captures election results, national referenda, changes in government, and institutional reforms for a range of countries, within and beyond the EU.
IMF Data
Access to international macroeconomic and financial data.
World Bank Data
Free and open access to global development data.
Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance Data
IDEA has collected and produced a number of information databases on different areas of democracy and elections worldwide.
Country Indicators for Foreign Policy
CIFP is a leader in customized risk analysis for the public and private sector.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
Reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 215 economies over the period 1996–2014, for six dimensions of governance: voice and accountability, political stability and absence of violence, government effectiveness, regulatory quality, rule of law, and control of corruption.

If you wish to inquire about the availability of specific microdata or a dataset, please contact the GSG Information Centre or fill out the Data Request Form.

ODESI - Data Service of Scholars Portal » This link opens in a new window
Access data and basic analysis tools for social survey data from Statistics Canada and Canadian polling data as well as the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research » This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Polling the nations » This link opens in a new window
Maximum simultaneous users: 1. Covers over 14,000 public opinion poll surveys from hundreds of organizations from the U.S., Canada and internationally and includes information on numbers polled, original questions, response totals and the polls' sources from 1986 to the present.

Canadian Opinion Research Archive
CORA contains hundreds of surveys including thousands of discrete items collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s.
Harris Decima
Highlights from the most recent surveys conducted by Harris Decima.
338Canada
The 338Canada project is a statistical model of electoral projections based on opinion polls, electoral history of Canadian provinces and demographic data. This web site is the creation of P.J. Fournier, astronomy and physics professor at Cégep de Saint-Laurent in Montréal.

Media Bias/Fact Checker
The most comprehensive media bias resource on the internet. There are currently 3200+ media sources listed in this database and growing every day. Use the search feature above (Header) to check the bias of any source. Use name or url.