Key Databases
- PAIS IndexJournal articles, book chapters, gray literature, research and conference reports relating to social, economic and political issues in the world.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsAbstracts and citations from international journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, public policy, public administration and law.
- ProQuest Political Science DatabaseAccess to over 140 leading political science and international relations journals.
- ProQuest Politics CollectionSimultaneous search of all 3 of the above databases (i.e. PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, ProQuest Political Science Database)
- International Political Science AbstractsAbstracts from major international journals and yearbooks.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) » This link opens in a new windowIncludes Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters and newswires.
- Canadian Periodical Index - CPI.QCPI.Q provides access to Canadian and American periodical literature. Canadian coverage includes a wide variety of English and French language journals having significant Canadian or regional content.
- Canadian Public Policy CollectionMonograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
- Annual Review of Political Science [journal]Synthesizes and filters primary research to identify the principal contributions in the field of political science.
- JSTOR Security Studies » This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database containing journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. This collection contains academic and policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- ProQuest Social SciencesSimultaneous search of nearly 30 ProQuest databases (including IBSS and the ProQuest Politics Collection)
- International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS)This resources includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
- ScopusIncludes peer-reviewed research journals, conference papers, trade publications, some book series in the sciences and social sciences.
- Web of ScienceThis database includes articles and conference papers from key research journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Science, Engineering, and Medicine.
- Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database that includes full text of journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Cambridge Journals » This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary platform giving access to scholarly journals within the following areas: arts, sciences, social sciences, engineering, law, and medicine.
French-language Databases
- CAIRN.INFO » This link opens in a new windowCairn offers the most comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities.
- OpenEdition Journals (fédération de revues en Sciences humaines et sociales) » This link opens in a new windowCollection of 80 electronic journals in French language covering various disciplines in social sciences and humanities.
Related Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America » This link opens in a new windowContains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present.
- EconLit » This link opens in a new windowCoverage is worldwide and includes references to journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, abstracts of working papers in economics. Produced by The American Economic Association.
- China Academic Journals Full-Text Database » This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database of Chinese journals that can be searched in English and Chinese. We have full-text access to journals relating to politics, military affairs, law, economics and management.
- Black Thought and Culture » This link opens in a new windowBlack Thought and Culture contains 989 sources with 947 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
- Environmental Studies & Policy Collection » This link opens in a new windowCovers environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community and governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
How to search for and use articles
Articles can be found in periodicals such as academic or scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.
For some tips on searching for sources, click here.
Most scholarly articles are peer-reviewed, which means that they have been evaluated by other researchers in the same field.
For more information on how to choose your sources and the peer-review process, click here.
More databases can be found in the Databases A-Z list.
Google Scholar
News Databases
For additional news-related resources, consult the News sources research guide.
Open Access Journals
- Directory of Open Access Journals » This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. They aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are thousands of journals in the directory. Many are searchable at article level.
