Music and Health

"Recently begun (2011), peer-reviewed, online journal covering musical analysis of “world musical traditions.” Fills a gap in analytical and theoretical coverage beyond Western art music, and provides a focused venue for music-theoretical and analytical scholarship and discourse in ethnomusicology and related fields. English only. " (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Peer-reviewed, open-access, international journal unique among those listed here for its inclusion of commentary responses to each article, fostering real, often interdisciplinary dialogue among scholars. Notable from the commentaries are the productive tensions in applying empirical, systematic, and/or neuroimaging approaches to cross-cultural studies. English." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology. Approaches music in cultural context, contrasting the approach most often taken in music psychology journals. Articles on cognitive aspects of musical experience appear periodically, relevant themes include listening, language, metaphor, embodiment, emotion, meaning, gesture, rhythm and timing, improvisation, trance, ability, musical knowledge." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Peer-reviewed, quarterly journal, bringing an empirical, systematic and, importantly, a computational approach to musicology. Research coverage is broadly interdisciplinary, with some emphasis on computer and new-media technologies, either as methodological tools, or as the subjects of investigation. First published under the title Interface (1972–1993). English." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Journal of the European Society for the Cognitive Sciences of Music. Empirical scholarship, and theoretical and critical articles. Empirical studies of musical perception, emotional experience, and meaning feature prominently. Like other cognitive science journals, coverage tends nearly exclusively toward Western art music, and some English-language popular music. English, German, French." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Stands out among others referenced here for its wide disciplinary scope, but more importantly for its serious commitment to interdisciplinary engagement (as evidenced by the citations included in this website). Empirical as well as theoretical papers. Links between perception and emotion feature prominently. English only, with some translated abstracts." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Peer-reviewed journal of the Society for Research in Psychology of Music and Music Education. Valuable for scholarship that bridges music psychology and music education, and empirical research in nonlaboratory settings. Emphases in musical development, teaching and learning, performance, listener or audience perception, and emotional response. Minimal cross-cultural coverage." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Peer-reviewed, biannual journal begun in 1981 and published through the American Psychological Association since 2011. Emphasis on audio laboratory–controlled experiments and on computational modeling of aspects of musical perception, structure, and process." (Source: Oxford Bibliographies)

"Provides an international forum for the publication of research, policy and best practice within the interdisciplinary field of arts and health." (Source: Publisher Taylor and Francis)

The Canadian Journal of Music Therapy (CJMT) is a bilingual, peer-reviewed publication that aims to raise international standards of music therapy knowledge and practice. (Source: Publisher website, CAMT)

"The Journal of Music Therapy (JMT) is a forum for authoritative articles of current music therapy research and theory, including book reviews and guest editorials." (Source: Publisher website, Oxford)

"For readers inside and outside the profession of music therapy, Music Therapy Perspectives (MTP) seeks to promote the development of music therapy clinical practice through the dissemination of scholarly work. Focusing on clinical benefits of music therapy, the journal strives to serve as a resource and forum for music therapists, music therapy students and educators, and those in related professions. Music Therapy Perspectives is an official publication of the American Music Therapy Association." (Source: Publisher website, National Association for Music Therapy)

The mission of Qualitative Inquiries in Music Therapy (QIMT) is to provide an accessible and international online forum for innovative works that advance qualitative inquiry in the field of music therapy. (Source: Publisher Website, Barcelona Publisher)