Finding information on consumer behaviour
The study of the lifestyles and personalities of consumers and how these affect their consumption behaviour is called psychographic segmentation.
In marketing, consumer behavior information may be derived from several sources, such as:
- Consumer surveys: these provide a snapshot of opinions, habits and preferences of consumers,
- Databases: these can be searched to find the latest research in consumer behaviour
Databases
Use the databases below to find information on consumers.
- HS Talks (Henry Stewart Talks) -- Understanding Consumer BehaviorHS Talks publishes animated audio visual presentations by leading world experts. Check out this video series titled "Why We Buy: Understanding Consumer Behavior."
- Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowPassport GMID is a global market analysis software platform, allowing researchers to analyze industry trend data, market sizes and market shares from countries around the world. Using the tabs at the top of the page, select Consumers > Lifestyles to generate country reports and statistics on consumer lifestyles, behaviours and values
- ProQuest One Business » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProQuest One Business includes scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and reports. Use it to find articles on consumer behavior and reports on trends.
- Business Source Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFind full texts articles on consumer behavior published in journals, magazines, and trade publications.
- APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowAccess professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including literature on consumer behavior and attitudes.
- PAIS Index » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFormerly PAIS International and PAIS Archive. A bibliographic index with abstracts. Includes journal articles, books, etc.
- GenderWatch » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, newspaper and magazine stories, government reports, etc., focusing on gender issues across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including education, health sciences, history, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies.
Polls and surveys
- Media Technology MonitorDatabase of statistics and reports on the adoption and use of existing and emerging technologies in Canada. Going back to 1992, provides summary results of annual surveys of 12,000 Canadians, equally split between anglophones and francophones.
- Office of Consumer Affairs - Innovation, Science and Economic Development CanadaBrowse a list of publications of the Office of Consumer Affairs including the report on consumer trends in the Canadian market.
- odesiAccess microdata from some major surveys, including the Canadian census.
- Vividata » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides data on reading habits, media exposure, product usage and lifestyles of Canadians.
- Polling the nations Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers over 14,000 public opinion poll surveys from hundreds of organizations from the U.S., Canada and internationally and includes information on numbers polled, original questions, response totals and the polls' sources from 1986 to the present.
Suggested titles
Use the library's catalogue to find books, articles and other resources related to consumer behaviour. Try using the terms below in a Subject or Keyword search:
- Consumer behavior
- Consumers -- Psychology
- Consumers' preferences
- Consumption
- Target marketing
- Market segmentation
Cross-Cultural Consumer Behavior by Publication Date: 2023
Consumer Behaviour by Publication Date: 2023
Social commerce: consumer behaviour in online environmentsPublication Date: 2019
Handbook of Research Methods in Consumer PsychologyPublication Date: 2019
