Find Articles - Biomedical Sciences - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Key databases

PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
3rd-Party login is now mandatory.
Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.
Medline (Ovid) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
EMBASE » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
Biomed Central » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central publishes over 290 open access scientific journals.
Unlike the traditional publishing model that restricts access to only those who pay for a subscription, all research articles published in BioMed Central journals will be permanently available free of charge and without restrictions. SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) is a partner and supports BioMed Central's efforts to ensure permanent open access to biomedical research results. BioMed Central supports both PubMed Central and self-archiving, and is leading the way among commercial publishers in making free and immediate access to scientific articles and journals a reality. Global exposure. Access to the research published is free. There are presently over 85 journals. The journals are available at BioMed Central and archived in PubMed Central, which means your work is released to a global audience. All research articles are indexed in PubMed, so your work can be found and cited. Research can be read as soon as it is accepted rather than waiting until a journal has space. BioMed Central gateway for the University of Ottawa. This homepage, tailored to our institution, provides links to the full text of articles published by University of Ottawa authors in BioMed Central. Other sources of revenue for BioMed Central will include a range of subscription-based services such as literature reviews and evaluation, editorially enhanced databases, and other software research aids. This homepage also indicates which of the subscription products are available.
Bioline International » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Open access platform for peer reviewed bioscience journals published in developing countries. These journals contain research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food and nutritional security and biodiversity.
Annual Reviews » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
SciFinder Scholar » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Scifinder Scholar is a database specialized in chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, medicine, materials sciences, pharmaceutical sciences and related disciplines. Register for the web version of SciFinder Scholar.
Scifinder Scholar database is only available on campus via the web version (the client version has been discontinued as of July 2011). To access the web version of SciFinder Scholar you must register for an individual account using your Ottawa U e-mail address.
Reaxys (Beilstein, Gmelin, Patent Chemistry) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web based database for searching an extensive collection of organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry data. It enables you to search chemical substances by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys is the merger of 3 chemical databases: Crossfire Beilstein, Crossfire Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database.
Merck Index » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each monograph (record) discusses a single chemical entity or a group of closely-related compounds.
APA PsycInfo (OVID) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and government reports in psychology and related disciplines.

I found an article, where's the full text?

If an article has been published in a journal, we don't necessarily have the full text. Try these steps:

Open Access Repositories

Find open access articles, working papers, technical reports, and more in online respositories. Learn more about Open Access.

Open Access Button
Search for open access versions of paywalled articles.
Unpaywall
A plug-in available for your browser that allows you to find the open access versions of articles.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PeerJ PrePrints
PeerJ PrePrints is a 'preprint server' for the Biological Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Health Sciences.
medRxiv: the preprint server for health sciences
A free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
bioRxiv: the preprint server for biology
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
KoreaMed Synapse
KoreaMed Synapse is a digital archive of Korean medical journals. Some journals are published in English. If a journal is written in Korean, the bibliographic data, abstract, figures, tables and references of articles are available in English.
LBMCC repository (Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer)
Repository for the LBMCC laboratory (Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire du Cancer). The LBMCC is a privately funded, non-profit cancer research laboratory located in Luxembourg City.
SciELO Public Health
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is an international research communication program.
Directory of Open Access Repositories