Find Books - Biomedical Sciences - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Find books in the Library's collection

Use the Advanced Search in Omni
Under Resource Type select Books from the drop-down menu
Type the title of the book or keywords that describe your topic (e.g. fiber optics, climate change)
Determine the book's location

If you see Access Online, click on the title to access the ebook
For print books that are in a library:
- Click on the title to view location and availability details
- Take note of the call # and location (Morisset Library General Collection vs Morisset Library AV Materials; Health Sciences Library at RGN).
- Use the call number to locate the book on the shelves
- If the book is located in off-campus storage, you can request that a book be delivered to your library.
- If the book is not available, you can reserve it.

E-book collections for biomedical sciences

AccessMedicine » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Medical reference textbooks and access to a "Lite" version of McGraw-Hill's USMLE comprehensive, online self-assessment service. Contains thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform.

AccessScience
AccessScience delivers the latest content of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 9th Edition, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th Edition. Updated daily.
Books @ OVID
The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.

Canadian Health Research Collection » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centers working in the area of health and medical research. The publications included are both general policy documents as well as those of a specialized technical nature.

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences (Morgan & Claypool)
EM-Premium
Full text access to all the treaties of " Encyclopédie Médico Chirurgicale " (EMC), and to the articles in the French journals published by Elsevier.
Gray's Anatomy
Human anatomy
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Online version, with the full text, illustrations and increased functional richness of the 18th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, as well as additional references, many links to abstracts from MEDLINE ™ ® and important information from emerging areas.
NLM Book shelf
The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books
Thieme Electronic Book Library
Atlases and Textbooks Series with coverage of anatomy, clinical science and radiology.
Royal Society of Chemistry Complete Ebook Collection
The entire RSC eBook Collection includes all the books published since 1968, and cover food science, physical, organic, environmental and analytical chemistry, materials and nanoscience, industry and pharma, and biosciences.
National Academies Press
More than 4,000 titles in PDF format on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health. All PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.
Cambridge Books Online
A multidisciplinary collection of ebooks, including titles in the following subject areas: Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Probability.
Springer Ebook Collection
A collection of full-text ebooks from Springer in all subject areas, with an emphasis on science, technology and medicine.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Users can view or read e-books online using eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), a tool compatible with your browser. This drive gives you quick and easy access to e-books for a period of time
ProQuest Ebooks Central
Offers a large number of current ebooks across all academic subject areas and from publishers worldwide.
[+][-]
Access requires an additional user authentication. The log in screen will pop-up automatically. Please use your regular library log in username and password.
Scholars Portal Books
Provides full-text searching and browsing for over 240,000 scholarly ebooks from various sources: Commercial publishers (such as Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, and Elsevier), Canadian publishers, as well as open access books from the Internet Archive. This includes material digitized by a number of universities as well as a collection of Ontario government documents.
[+][-]
Provides full-text searching and browsing for over 240,000 scholarly ebooks from various sources: Commercial publishers (such as Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, and Elsevier), Canadian publishers, as well as open access books from the Internet Archive. This includes material digitized by a number of universities as well as a collection of Ontario government documents.

Federal Science Library

Federal Science Library
The Government of Canada's Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place.
National Academies Press (U.S.)
Thousands of ebooks that you can read or download free. Browse by topic or ⁠searchable collection in Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.