How to Use Zotero

Bite-size search strategies to help you become an expert searcher.

Instructions

If a reference was added to Zotero from Google Scholar, a database or another Web site, it may have a link that will bring you back to it online where you can locate the full-text.

  1. Double-click on a reference in your Zotero library
    • If the reference has a link or a DOI, a page will open in your browser
    • If the reference does not have a link or DOI, nothing will happen
  2. If a page displaying a link to the full-text appears, click the Zotero icon in your browser to save the reference and the full-text (note, that in some cases, links lead to the original database without the full-text in which case you need to click on the "afficher/get it" link to locate the full-text)
  3. Return to Zotero and delete the original reference without the PDF

Complete Instructions

Review

Task for learning: Identify one or two of your references in Zotero that do not have full-text attachments. Try the double-clicking method to see if that helps you obtain full-text.

True or false: A reference needs to have a URL or a DOI in order for the double-clicking method to work.
A) True: 10 votes (100%)
B) False: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 10

All Review Questions

If you have questions, or if you run into problems that the course does not address, e-mail the University of Ottawa Library: bibliolibrary@uOttawa.ca

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

This online course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license. Unless otherwise stated, it is attributed to Mish Boutet, and is based on handouts by Patrick Labelle (also under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).

[How to Use Zotero online course updated: December 1, 2019]