Before presenting, copying or citing
Learn about the Canadian Copyright Act before sharing or presenting video recordings, sound recordings, or images with a group of students or colleagues. Copying audiovisual material, newspaper articles or microforms may be restricted.
Note the relevant information to properly cite references of audiovidual material as well as text.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is dedicated to accelerating biological, medical, chemical and physical research by elucidating techniques through a combination of peer reviewed video and text.
Physics & Astronomy
- IOP LecturesInstitute of Physics' open access lecture videos. Includes recent lectures, including our annual Newton lectures.
- Project Tuva (Richard Feynman Lectures)Messenger Lectures series titled The Character of Physical Law given at Cornell University by Richard Feynman in 1964 and recorded by the BBC.
- American Institute of Physics, Emilio Segre Visual ArchivesHistorical collection of portraits of scientists and images of labs, instruments, telescopes, etc.
- Physics WorldOfficial video channel of Physics World, the world's leading physics magazine.
- NASA images (Flickr)A collection of over a thousand images of significant historical interest scanned at high-resolution in several sizes.
- NASA MultimediaImages, videos, audio and more.
- Sloan Digital Sky SurveyCollections of photos and other images associated with the Sloan Digital Sky Survey.
- TCB GalleryImages and videos from the Theoretical and Computational Biophysics Group (TCBG), an NIH Resource for Macromolecular Modeling and Bioinformatics, located at the Beckman Institute of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC).
- Minute PhysicsEducational videos created by Henry Reich
- Sixty SymbolsVideos about the symbols of physics and astronomy created by Brady Haran for the University of Nottingham.
- APS Archive of Physics ImagesArchive of images that have appeared on the American Physical Society's homepage.
- PIRA Physics DrawingsA collection of drawings, from the Physics Instructional Resource Association (PIRA), that are free for educational uses.
Multidisciplinary
- ARTstorA digital library of over 1 million images, including uOttawa's ever-growing collections. Includes a set of tools to view, present, share and manage images.
- ScienceDirect Image SearchScienceDirect image search allows users to search across approximately 15 million images, over five million tables and three thousand videos from Elsevier journal and book content published post 1994.
- Science.gc.ca - VideosMore than 40 science videos on topics like environment, energy, health, food, materials, security and marine and freshwater sciences.
- Ingenium Channel: videosThe Ingenium Channel is a digital hub featuring curated content related to the Canadian perspective on science, technology and innovation.
- U.S. National Science Foundation Multimedia GalleryA collection of images, video, and audio relating to the National Science Foundation's research in science and engineering.
- Government Resources for Science Images (Library of Congress)Selected internet resources for science images.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips).
- CNRS Photo library Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique de France (CNRS)
- CNRS video Library Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique de France (CNRS)
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search CenterThe Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections including images and videos.
- Science Photo LibraryScience Photo Library is a company that provides scientific images and videos.
- Wellcome ImagesWellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
- Nature Online Video ArchiveVideos from the journal Nature
- VeritasiumVeritasium is a science video blog featuring experiments, expert interviews, cool demos, and discussions with the public about everything science.
- TED.comTED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. More than 1400 TED Talks are now available, with more added each week.