Sources of Plays and Productions

Digital Theatre Plus » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Recent British theatre productions captured authentically onscreen in high definition. Includes captures of the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. Provide rare access to recent theatre productions.

Check in the catalogue for works by playwrights. There are also many plays in anthologies, and selections in audition books.

Drama Online » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Drama Online is a digital library of plays from Aeschylus to the present day. It also includes critical analysis, contextual information, A-Z reference and practical texts.
Films on Demand Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides instant access to an educational cross-curricular digital library on a wide range of subjects from academic to life-skills content. It offers online access to over 6 000 streaming videos in many subject areas, including theatre.
Affaires et Science économique; Carrières et Recherche d'emploi; Famille et études de consommation; Sciences et Mathématiques; Santé et Médecine; Conseils et Orientation; Sciences humaines et sociales; Formation technique. Chaque vidéo est divisée en segments ce qui permet à l'usager de ne projeter que les passages pertinents au thème présenté. Les droits de présentation publique sont compris avec l'abonnement et tous les titres peuvent être diffusés en salle de classe. La sélection de titres est offerte par Films Media Group et comprend, entre autres, des productions de Films for the Humanities, Cambridge Educational, BBC, CBS et PBS. On ajoute environ 500 titres par année à l'ensemble des modules.

Inter-Play
Indexes citations for international plays and playwrights in selected collections, anthologies, and periodicals. No longer updated as of December 2013.
National Theatre Collection
"National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive."

Theatre in Video Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
more than 250 definitive performances of some of the greatest plays from the world repertoire, along with more than 100 documentaries on various aspects of theatre, online in streaming video. Covered are hundreds of leading playwrights, directors, famous actors and theatre companies
Twentieth Century Drama » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Contains 2,500 plays written in the English language from around the world, published from the 1890s to present day.
Twentieth Century North American Drama » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Texts of more than 2000 plays, some unpublished. Many Canadian titles. Each play is listed in the library's catalogue.

Scenes and Monologues

Audition Speeches for Men by Jean Marlow (Editor)
ISBN: 0878301453
Audition Speeches for Men will give actors and coaches valuable advice and strong material they need to prepare for the next big audition.
The Methuen Audition Book for Women by Annika Bluhm
ISBN: 0413771938
"Annika Bluhm has compiled pieces from mainstream contemporary classics as well as cutting-edge plays from the last ten years. They cover a wide range of mood and character, from comedy to tragedy, from youth to old age. Each piece is accompanied by a synopsis setting the extract firmly in context."
The Perfect Audition Monologue by Glenn Alterman
ISBN: 1575253631
"Finding the right audition monologue can be crucial to an actor's career. The audition monologue is an important marketing tool that introduces and showcases an actor's talent to agents, casting directors, and producers. In The Perfect Audition Monologue, Glenn Alterman covers every aspect of the monologue audition, from entrance to exit."
The Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook by Ed Hooks (Editor)
ISBN: 0823077713
This sourcebook provides context for actors when reading for auditions. Full scene analyses for over 1000 monologues and dialogues from more than 300 plays are provided.