Collections et ressources de l'université d'Ottawa et plus encore / Collections and resources of University of Ottawa
Atlas D'anatomie Generale et Radiologique Avec Banque D'images en Ligne. 2nde édition
par
Particulièrement graphique avec plus de 650 illustrations en couleurs, cette seconde édition a été entièrement revue et corrigée, la plupart des schémas ont été renouvelés et les coupes TDM et IRM actualisées. Cet atlas permet ainsi une étude approfondie et rigoureuse de la morphologie humaine.
Dans la même lignée que le Guide des technologies de l’imagerie médicale et de la radiothérapie, cet ouvrage pédagogique se révèle un outil indispensable pour les manipulateurs en radiologie (MERM), mais également pour les radiologues en tant qu’ouvrage de référence
Anatomie du Corps Humain - Atlas D'Imagerie
par
L'imagerie médicale moderne est la représentation de l'anatomie du corps humain. Par son illustration de cette relation directe, cet atlas permet aux lecteurs de parfaire leurs connaissances dans l'interprétation des projections en imagerie de l'anatomie humaine normale, connaissance essentielle avant de rechercher la représentation des signes de la pathologie. Pour illustrer cette intrication permanente, cet atlas propose : - une présentation de l'imagerie de l'anatomie de haute qualité dans sept sections topographiques : tête, cou et cerveau ; colonne vertébrale et moelle spinale ; membre supérieur ; thorax ; abdomen et pelvis en coupes ; abdomen et pelvis hors coupes ; membre inférieur ; - une section complémentaire qui concerne la médecine nucléaire et ses possibilités de représentation de l'anatomie fonctionnelle en complément de l'anatomie morphologique de l'organe ; - des moyens d'orientation qui facilitent la compréhension des projections dans différentes incidences radiographiques, sur des coupes tomodensitométriques et IRM axiales, coronales et sagittales, et des tables d'ossification pour le développement osseux ; - des images légendées par de nombreux repères discrets qui préservent leur lisibilité et favorisent l'autoévaluation. L'étudiant et le praticien en exercice trouveront dans cet atlas une référence permanente pour valider et entretenir leurs connaissances en anatomie à travers sa représentation fiable par les techniques d'imagerie les plus récentes. Tous les procédés d'imagerie médicale pour présenter l'anatomie normale du corps humain : radiographie, angiographie, tomodensitométrie, imagerie par résonance magnétique, échographie. - Les plus récents progrès en technologie d'imagerie. - 750 illustrations d'une clarté exceptionnelle.
Anthropometry
par
Today, human factors and ergonomics professionals worldwide contribute to the design and evaluation of tasks, jobs, products, environments, and systems in order to make them compatible with the needs, abilities, and limitations of people. By understanding anthropometry, professionals can ensure that our home and working environments are comfortable and designed with the human in mind. This book aims to show how an understanding of anthropometrics can influence workspace design, ergonomics in the office, ergonomics in the home, and health and safety at work. This book discusses the measurement of the human body and human variability. Anthropometry may seem to be relatively simple but the reality is that it focuses on very sophisticated aspects of how to make the products tailor-made to suit specific requirements. As a study, it is useful for a variety of purposes such as workspace design, ergonomics in the office, ergonomics in the home, and health and safety at work. These eleven chapters investigate anthropometrics and bridge the gap between theory and practice. Each chapter is supported by tables, charts, and illustrations, and a wide list of bibliographic references. The reader will develop new insights into the principles and practice of anthropometrics with this book bringing the topic right up to date. Anthropometry: Human Body Measurements and How to Use Them will be of interest to students, graduates, teachers, researchers, and general workers in industrial design, ergonomics, rehabilitation, safety, and health.
Atlas of Anatomy of the peripheral nerves The Nerves of the Limbs – Expert Edition
par
Atlas of Cutaneous Branch Territories for the Diagnosis of Neuropathic Pain
par
Atlas of Functional Neuroanatomy
par
Understanding how the brain is organized and visualizing its pathways and connections can be conceptually challenging. The Atlas of Functional Neuroanatomy, Third Edition addresses this challenge by presenting a clear visual guide to the human central nervous system (CNS). This edition has been completely reorganized to facilitate learning the stru
Atlas of Human Cranial Macromorphoscopic Traits
par
Atlas of Human Cranial Macromorphoscopic Traits synthesizes macromorphoscopic traits and their analysis in an accessible manner, providing detailed descriptions and examples of the various character state manifestations intended for use in classrooms, laboratories, and in the field. The volume begins with an outline of the macromorphoscopic dataset, its history, recent modifications to the historical approach, and recent technological and analytical advances. Additional sections cover Nomenclature, Gross Anatomy, Function, Methodology, Line Drawings, Detailed Definitions, Multiple High-resolution Photographs, and Population Variation Data from the Macromorphoscopic Databank (MaMD). The volume concludes with a chapter outlining the statistical analysis of macromorphoscopic data and a summary of the computer programs and reference databases available to forensic anthropologists for the analysis of these data. Provides detailed descriptions, illustrations and high-resolution images of various character state manifestations of seventeen macromorphoscopic traits Applies to both forensic and bioarcheological research Written by the foremost expert on macromorphoscopic trait analysis and estimation of ancestry in forensic anthropology
Atlas of lymphatic system in cancer : sentinel lymph node, lymphangiogenesis and neolymphogenesis
par
Atlas of sectional anatomy : understanding the anatomical aspects of the thorax, abdomen and pelvis
par
Broken Bones
par
Broken Bones contains 434 individual cases and 1,101 radiologic images illustrating the typical and less typical appearances of fractures and dislocations throughout the body. The first chapter describes fractures and dislocations of the fingers, starting with fractures of the phalangeal tufts and progressing through the distal, middle, and proximal phalanges and the DIP and PIP joints. Subsequent chapters cover the metacarpals, the carpal bones, the radius and ulna, the elbow and upper arm, and the shoulder and thoracic cage. The cervical spine and the thoracic and lumbosacral spine are covered in separate chapters, followed by the pelvis, the femur, the knee and lower leg, the ankle, the tarsal bones, and the metatarsals and toes. The final three chapters cover the face, fractures and dislocations in children, and fractures and dislocations caused by bullets and nonmilitary blasts.
Clinical Anatomy of the Knee
par
This book provides detailed information on functional anatomy, physical examination, and clinical radiology of the knee with a view to enabling the clinician to identify the most suitable treatment approach to different knee joint pathologies. In addition, the arthroscopic treatment techniques most frequently employed in patients with these conditions are described, with presentation of numerous arthroscopic images detailing characteristic findings. Knee joint pathologies today represent a significant challenge owing to the complexity of the injuries suffered, rising activity levels, and high patient expectations. A proper physical examination plays an important role in diagnosis. The surgeon who has the opportunity to conduct a clinical evaluation must fully understand the role of radiological evaluations, and assessment by a radiology expert is also necessary. In all cases, knowledge of the normal anatomy and its correlation with clinical and radiological findings is fundamental to correct diagnosis and treatment selection. Surgeons and trainees with an interest in knee joint pathologies will find this book to be an excellent, richly illustrated educational guide to the subject.
Clinical Embryology
par
This comprehensive atlas is unique in combining information on the embryological development of the human with detailed presentation of the congenital malformations encountered in clinical practice. As a consequence it will not only assist practitioners and trainees in recognizing and evaluating malformations, but also enable them to understand how a malformation has developed and to explain the mystery of congenital malformations to relatives and patients. The book is organized according to anatomic region, with additional chapters on hernias, tumors, lymphogenesis and lymphatic malformations. According to WHO statistics, each year congenital anomalies result in approximately 3.2 million birth defect-related disabilities worldwide. All too often, however, training in embryology is now a neglected area, and medical graduates frequently lack confidence in their knowledge of the field. Clinical Embryology: An Atlas of Congenital Malformations will help to rectify this deficit and toensure that malformations are comprehended and managed appropriately. It will be of value for postgraduate trainees in pediatric surgery, pediatrics, and neonatology, undergraduate medical students, and general practitioners/family physicians.
Clinico-Pathological Atlas of Cardiovascular Diseases
par
The objective of this Atlas is to contribute to the knowledge of morphological findings of the main cardiovascular diseases among the various specialists who deal with people affected of heart diseases: cardiologists and cardiovascular surgeons, clinical and forensic pathologists, coroners, sports medicine doctors. The interest in cardiovascular pathology, neglected for years in many countries, is increasing worldwide and we are witnessing the revitalization of a discipline, which, in collaboration with clinicians, is making great contributions to the fight against heart diseases and sudden-unexpected deaths. This atlas of cardiovascular diseases is the result of close collaboration between Spanish specialists in cardiology and in cardiovascular pathology and describes the clinical and pathologic features (gross and histopathologial) of major cardiovascular diseases in adults, especially those acquired, but also treat relevant congenital anomalies. This book contains 635 images, 78 tables and graphics distributed in 12 chapters across the spectrum of diseases that can be found in each of the structures of the cardiovascular system (aorta, pulmonary vessels, coronaries, valves, myocardium, pericardium and conduction system). The coordinated work of forensic pathologists from different cities in Spain and cardiologists (primarily from the Hospital Universitario Puerta de Hierro de Madrid) has assembled in all chapters their two worlds (forensic pathology and cardiology) to achieve a practical work with the aim to serve as a practical tool for multiple specialists.
Cochlear Anatomy Via Microdissection with Clinical Implications
par
This atlas focuses on selected aspects of cochlear anatomy as illustrated by material prepared by the microdissection technique, a three-dimensional perspective not possible with standard histological approaches. Although much of the material in this text was processed by the microdissection method, photomicrographs from conventionally cross sectioned inner ear tissues and scanning electron microscopy, are also presented. Taken together, these technical approaches provide different, complementary views of inner ear anatomy, and offer a more informative understanding than is possible with any of the methods used alone. While micrographs obtained from microdissected material appear sporadically in journal articles, there is no comprehensive collection of such images currently available. The illustrations assembled in this atlas are complementary to the more traditional histologic images and drawings available in standard texts, and aide in understanding the intricate anatomy of the cochlea. Cochlear Anatomy via Microdissection with Clinical Implications will be a useful resource for otolaryngologists, anatomists, audiologists, and neuroscientists. Those engaged in cochlear implantation, physicians and researchers in the growing fields of implantable hearing aids and drug delivery to the inner ear, and members of industry involved in designing, manufacturing, and marketing implantable hearing aids will also find this atlas of great value.
Color Atlas of Pediatric Anatomy, Laparoscopy, and Thoracoscopy
par
Both the number of pediatric surgeons using minimally invasive surgery (MIS) and the number of operations involving MIS are increasing. This atlas of anatomy and operative techniques provides a thorough outline of the procedures commonly used in laparoscopic and thoracoscopic pediatric surgery. Step-by-step operative photographs are accompanied by explanatory text, and line diagrams are used to highlight the important anatomy as seen endoscopically. Alternative techniques, instruments, and steps are described when appropriate, and attention is drawn to highlights and pitfalls. While each chapter includes some basic background on the condition in question, the focus is very much on the operative procedures. This atlas will be of special benefit to those establishing a laparoscopic practice as well as to those in training who wish to embark on MIS. It will also serve as a supplementary atlas of anatomy and surgical technique for younger surgeons and medical students.
Comparative Kinesiology of the Human Body
par
Comparative Kinesiology of the Human Body: Normal and Pathological Conditions covers changes in musculoskeletal, neurological and cardiopulmonary systems that, when combined, are the three pillars of human movement. It examines the causes, processes, consequences and contexts of physical activity from different perspectives and life stages, from early childhood to the elderly. The book explains how purposeful movement of the human body is affected by pathological conditions related to any of these major systems. Coverage also includes external and internal factors that affect human growth patterns and development throughout the lifespan (embryo, child, adult and geriatrics). This book is the perfect reference for researchers in kinesiology, but it is also ideal for clinicians and students involved in rehabilitation practice. Includes in-depth coverage of the mechanical behavior of the embryo as one of the major determinants of human movement throughout the lifecycle Provides a comparison of human movement between normal and pathological conditions Addresses each body region in functional and dysfunctional kinesiological terms
Cross-Sectional Atlas of the Human Head
par
This superb color atlas sets a new standard in neuroanatomy by presenting around 300 detailed thin-sectioned images of the human head, including the brain, with 0.1-mm intervals and a pixel size of 0.1 mm × 0.1 mm. A new reference system employed for this purpose is clearly explained, and structures are fully annotated in the horizontal, coronal, and sagittal planes. Recent advances in 7T MRI and 7T TDI have considerably enhanced imaging of the human brain, thereby impacting on both neuroscience research and clinical practice. Moreover, the information gained from initiatives involving photography of thin slices of human cadavers, such as the Visible Human Projects, Visible Korean and Chinese Visible Human, has enriched knowledge of neuroanatomy and thereby facilitated the interpretation of such ultra-high-field resolution images. The exquisite images contained within this atlas will be invaluable in providing both researchers and clinicians with important new insights.
The Human Body
par
The Human Body: Linking Structure and Function provides knowledge on the human body's unique structure and how it works. Each chapter is designed to be easily understood, making the reading interesting and approachable. Organized by organ system, this succinct publication presents the functional relevance of developmental studies and integrates anatomical function with structure. Focuses on bodily functions and the human body's unique structure Offers insights into disease and disorders and their likely anatomical origin Explains how developmental lineage influences the integration of organ systems
The Human Body in Health and Illness
par
Using colorful cartoons, illustrations, and an easy-to-read approach, The Human Body in Health and Illness, 4th Edition makes it fun to learn anatomy & physiology. Clear, step-by-step explanations provide all the information you need to know, so concepts are easy to understand even if you have a limited background in the sciences. Written by well-known educator Barbara Herlihy, the book begins with a basic discussion of the human body and cellular structure and moves toward genetics and the greater complexity of the human organism. It breaks down complex concepts and processes into digestible chunks, and new features such as Re-Think and Go Figure! help you apply what you've learned to common problems in patient care. Full-color illustrations simplify difficult concepts and complex processes. Colorful cartoons use humor to clarify and reinforce the content, making it more memorable, accessible, and reader-friendly. Interesting analogies and examples make learning easier, especially if you're studying A&P for the first time. Key terms and objectives are listed at the beginning of every chapter, setting learning expectations and goals, with terms defined in a comprehensive glossary. Did You Know boxes include brief vignettes describing clinical scenarios or historical events related to A&P. Review tools include chapter summaries, Review Your Knowledge questions, and Go Figure! questions relating to figures and diagrams. UPDATED illustrations and content keep A&P information current and strengthen an already popular textbook. UPDATED Medical Terminology and Disorders tables include pronunciations, derivations, and word parts, along with expanded, in-depth descriptions of the most crucial information. UPDATED! The Evolve website assets include practice exams, interactive activities and exercises, the Body Spectrum Online Coloring Book, and more!
Imaging of fetal brain and spine : an atlas and guide
par
Normal and Abnormal Fetal Face Atlas Ultrasonographic Features
par
Topographical and Pathotopographical Medical Atlas of the Chest, Abdomen, Lumbar Region, and Retroperitoneal Space
par
The third medical atlas in this new series on the human body and filled with detailed pictures, this atlas details the topographical and pathotopographical anatomy of the chest, abdomen, lumbar region, and retroperitoneal space, a useful reference for medical professionals and students alike. Written by an experienced and well-respected physician and professor, this new volume, building on the previous volume, Ultrasonic Topographical and Pathotopographical Anatomy, and its sequel, Topographical and Pathotopographical Medical Atlas of the Head and Neck, also available from Wiley-Scrivener, presents the ultrasonic topographical and pathotopographical anatomy of the chest, abdomen, lumbar region, and retroperitoneal space, offering further detail into these important areas for use by medical professionals. This series of atlases of topographic and pathotopographic human anatomy is a fundamental and practically important series designed for doctors of all specializations and students of medical schools. Here you can find almost everything that is connected with the topographic and pathotopographic human anatomy, including original graphs of logical structures of topographic anatomy and development of congenital abnormalities, topography of different areas in layers, pathotopography, and computer and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of topographic and pathotopographic anatomy. Also you can find here new theoretical and practical sections of topographic anatomy developed by the author himself which are published for the first time. They are practically important for mastering the technique of operative interventions and denying the possibility of iatrogenic complications during operations. This important new volume will be valuable to physicians, junior physicians, medical residents, lecturers in medicine, and medical students alike, either as a textbook or as a reference. It is a must-have for any physician's library.
Topographical and Pathotopographical Medical Atlas of the Human Body
par
Written by an experienced and well-respected physician and professor, this new volume combines the entire previous four books, Ultrasonic Topographical and Pathotopographical Anatomy, and its three sequels, also available from Wiley-Scrivener, presenings the ultrasonic topographical and pathotopographical anatomy of the entire body, offering further detail into these important areas for use by medical professionals. This comprehensive and exhaustive medical atlas of topographic and pathotopographic human anatomy is a fundamental and practically important book designed for doctors of all specializations and students of medical schools. Here you can find almost everything that is connected with the topographic and pathotopographic human anatomy, including original graphs of logical structures of topographic anatomy and development of congenital abnormalities, topography of different areas in layers, pathotopography, computer and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of topographic and pathotopographic anatomy. You can also find here new theoretical and practical sections of topographic anatomy developed by the author himself which are published for the first time. They are practically important for mastering the technique of operative interventions and denying possibility of iatrogenic complications during operations. This important new volume will be valuable to physicians, junior physicians, medical residents, lecturers in medicine, and medical students alike, either as a textbook or as a reference. It is a must-have for any physician's library.
A multi-disciplinary ebook collection.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is a research methods tool offering access to over 100,000 pages of content (journals, books and reference books) to help researchers, faculty and students explore concepts, understand methodologies, design research projects and write up their research, across all disciplines, especially the social sciences and in the health sciences. SRM also includes hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects and a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
Offre les fonctions de navigation et de recherche plein texte dans plus de 240 000 livres électroniques d'érudition provenant de diverses sources comme les éditeurs commerciaux (Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, etc.) et les éditeurs canadiens, ainsi que dans des livres en libre accès provenant de Internet Archive. Comprend des documents numérisés par de nombreuses universités, de mème qu'une collection de documents du gouvernement de l'Ontario.
