Find Biodiversity Resources - Biology - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Biodiversity and Conservation

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.
Dynamic Ecological Information Management System - Site and Dataset Registry
DEIMS-SDR (Dynamic Ecological Information Management System - Site and dataset registry) is an information management system that allows you to discover long-term ecosystem research sites around the globe, along with the data gathered at those sites and the people and networks associated with them.

Canadensys
Canadensys, operated from the Université de Montréal Biodiversity Centre, is a Canada-wide effort to make the biodiversity information held in biological collections accessible to everyone.
NatureWatch
A citizen science website maintained by the Department of Geography at the University of Ottawa.
iNaturalist
Canada's gateway to a global species data sharing community.
Natural Heritage Information Centre
Ontario’s conservation data centre

Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB)
An international data repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research.
IISD Experimental Lakes Area
IISD Experimental Lakes Area is one of the world’s most influential freshwater research facilities. It features a collection of 58 small lakes and their watersheds in Northwestern Ontario, Canada.

The Catalogue of Life
A comprehensive index of the world's known species.
Encyclopedia of Life
An open access encyclopedia created by a collaboration of biodiversity knowledge providers around the world, including museums, libraries, universities and research centers.
NCBI Taxomony Database
The NCBI Taxonomy database is a curated set of names and classifications for all of the organisms that are represented in GenBank.

International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
IUCN resources include publications, standards and guidelines, and conservation tools.
World Database on Protected Areas (WDPA)
The World Database on Protected Areas (WDPA) is the most comprehensive global database on terrestrial and marine protected areas.
NatureServe Explorer
NatureServe is the definitive source for information on rare and endangered species and ecosystems in the Americas.
Conservation Evidence
Website that summarizes evidence from primary scientific literature about effects of conservation actions. Run out of the University of Cambridge.
Species at risk public registry
Database of documents relating to Canada's Species at Risk Act (SARA). Includes list of species along with related status reports, management plans, and public consultations.

Global Plants » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Plant Science is built in collaboration with dozens of herbaria, libraries, archives, museums, herbaria, universities, and other research institutions. It includes type specimens, paintings, drawings, correspondence and supporting materials.

GRIN-CA Taxonomy (Plant Gene Resources of Canada)
GRIN-CA taxonomic data provide the structure and nomenclature for the accessions of the Canadian National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS).
National Forestry Database
The National Forestry Database (NFD) is Canada's Compendium of Forestry Statistics.
Northern Ontario Plant Database
The Northern Ontario Plant Database (NOPD) is a website that provides free public access to records of herbarium specimens housed in northern Ontario educational and government institutions.
USDA PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S.
The Plant List
The Plant List is created by a collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden. It contains all known species of vascular plants and bryophytes.

Barcode of Life Data Systems (BOLD)
Developed at the Centre for Biodiversity Genomics at the University of Guelph, BOLD provides DNA barcode data.

Birds of the World » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.
Following in the footsteps of Wilson, Audubon, and Bent, BNA provides a quantum leap in information beyond what those historic figures were able to assemble.

Avian Knowledge Network
An international network of governmental and non-governmental institutions and individuals linking avian conservation, monitoring and science through efficient data management and coordinated development of useful solutions using best-science practices based on the data.
Fishbase
FishBase is a database and encyclopedia of more than 30,000 species and subspecies of fishes.
The Zebrafish Information Network
The Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN) is the database of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish (Danio rerio) as a model organism.
RAM Legacy Stock Assessment Database
The RAM Legacy Stock Assessment Database is a compilation of stock assessment results for commercially exploited marine populations from around the world.
Xenbase
The Xenopus Genomics Database provides access to genomic, expression, and functional data available from Xenopus research.

CABI Invasive Species Compendium
An encyclopedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.
Invasive species in Canada
Services and information from the Government of Canada.
USGS Invasive Species Program
USGS invasive species research encompasses all significant groups of invasive organisms in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems throughout the U.S.