Includes the complete text of major editions of Shakespeare's works, contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the 17th to the 19th century.
Oxford's scholarly editions provide trustworthy, annotated texts of writing from authors active Antiquity and late Modernity. The content includes hundreds of poems, plays, and prose work.
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides access to digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the eighteenth century. It includes 3,500 books in French. ECCO is based on the English Short Title Catalogue, a list of the holdings of the British Library and more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide
Maximum simultaneous users: 2. This collection of 18th-century primary sources includes letters and manuscripts from early or original language editions in English, French, German and Italian. Also included are scholarly annotations, and links to other online resources such as encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries etc.
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, from 1150 to 1900.
Explore the Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library – a unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824. Larpent preserved the original submissions, over 2,500 of which are presented here. The database also proposes hundreds of further documents including playbills, theatre records and correspondence that provides social context.
Digitized facsimile of Leeds University's Brotherton collection of 17th and 18th century literary manuscripts, which contains mostly poetry but also songs, literary translations, personal correspondence, medicinal recipes, etc.
The archive of the Stationers’ Company is widely regarded as one of the most important sources for studying the history of the book, publishing and copyright. This resource provides essential primary sources for students and scholars of English literature, Renaissance theatre, and print culture from the early modern period to the twentieth century.
The archive of the Stationers’ Company is widely regarded as one of the most important sources for studying the history of the book, publishing and copyright. This resource provides essential primary sources for students and scholars of English literature, Renaissance theatre, and print culture from the early modern period to the twentieth century.
London Low Life »Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
London Low Life contains digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London. Designed for both teaching and study, it will be of interest to a wide range of disciplines including literature, cultural studies, urban studies, social history and the study of leisure and tourism. There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available.
The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.
The primary sources in this module not only celebrate well-known and popular forms of entertainment but also highlights lesser-known activities and leisure interests. Advertising posters, guidebooks, admission tickets and handbills represent the diverse forms of entertainment available to growing numbers of people from the late Georgian period and throughout the Victorian and Edwardian era.
