Key database
- APA PsycInfo (OVID) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology, psychiatry, medicine, nursing, sociology, education and behavioural sciences.
The Ovid interface is more complex and lends itself nicely for more advanced research such as for systematic or scoping reviews.
Learn to use APA PsycInfo, watch APA videos on YouTube or attend free APA webinar training for students. - APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology, psychiatry, medicine, nursing, sociology, education and behavioural sciences.
The ProQuest interface is simple, intuitive and user-friendly, which is ideal for simpler searches.
Learn to use APA PsycInfo, watch APA videos on YouTube or attend free APA webinar training for students.
Related subject databases
The following databases are often used by psychology researchers and may provide access to articles not indexed in PsycINFO:
- Cochrane Library (Wiley) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides access to evidence-based databases that look at effects of health care interventions.
Also available on the Ovid platform. - Medline (Ovid) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles only from the biomedical field.
MEDLINE is also searchable through PubMed (view differences between MEDLINE, PubMed and PMC for more info). - PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers biomedical literature including articles and more.
The following databases provide access to content in related fields such as education, gender studies, allied heath and more:
- AARP Ageline » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature dealing with the population aged 50+.
- CINAHL (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature dealing with nursing and allied health.
- EMBASE » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the biomedical and pharmaceutical literature (maximum of 40 simultaneous users).
- ERIC (PROQUEST Platform) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers research documents, articles, technical reports, program evaluations and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also available on the Ovid platform. - GenderWatch » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFocuses on gender issues across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature dealing with language, linguistics and their various subdisciplines.
- PTSDpubs » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to international literature on PTSD and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
- Sociological Abstracts » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature from more than 1800 journals in sociology.
Consult the Library's Databases A-Z list for a complete list of available resources.
Related multidisciplinary databases
The following databases provide wide subject coverage across many disciplines:
- Academic Search Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, magazines and newspapers from many subject areas.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective : 1907-1984 » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers the humanities and social sciences literature from from 1907 to 1984.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides references to journals, book chapters, books and reviews in the social sciences dating back to 1951.
- SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers scientific, technical and medical literature.
- Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers key journals in various fields including medicine and social sciences.
French-language databases
The following multidisciplinary databases index journals and magazines published in French:
- CAIRN.INFO Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
- Eureka.cc Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
- OpenEdition Journals (fédération de revues en Sciences humaines et sociales) Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Intro to
library research
Consult the Social Sciences - An Introduction to Library Research guide to learn how to choose a topic, prepare a search and cite sources.
Google Scholar
Open access
Research published in open access enables anyone anywhere to access scholarly content.
