Bibliothécaire / Librarian
Don't hesitate to book an apt for assistance (on-site at RGN and virtual options available).
Have a great day !
Excellente journée !
Courriel / email :
mdomecq@uottawa.ca
Welcome to our new School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Established in 2021, the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences is located in the heart of the Faculty of Medicine. Home to the brand new PharmD program in French, it aims at being a bilingual global leader in educational innovation and in drug research and pharmaceutical care.
https://www.uottawa.ca/faculty-medicine/school-pharmaceutical-sciences
Here a document (in French) presenting some of our resources for the new program:
UO Resources
- AccessPharmacy collection » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowAccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
- CPS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCPS (formerly RxTx) is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. It provides online access to evidence-based drug and therapeutic information. Available in French and in English. One tool for two well known Canadian resources.
Rx = The Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS), formerly known as e-CPS, contains more than 2000 product monographs for drugs, vaccines and natural health products, including monographs, including CPhA monographs written by the Canadian Pharmacists Association's editorial staff, based on the best available evidence and reviewed by expert physicians and pharmacists. Include also a module of drug interactions.
Tx = The Compendium of Therapeutic Choices (CTC), formerly e-Therapeutics, is a Canadian source for evidence-based treatment information for all health care practitioners involved in therapeutic decision-making. - RxVigilance » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowRxVigilance is the ideal assistant when it comes to pharmacological treatment that allows you to quickly access the information or perform a comprehensive analysis of a patient's pharmacological profile. With just a few mouse clicks, you can also access printable drug information sheets and instructions for your patients.
- RxPhotosId » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIdentify pharmaceutical drugs with access to more than 50,000 photographs in the RxPhotosID module. When available, past physical characteristics of medications are also provided.
- Merck Index Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowLe 'Merck Index' est une encyclopédie de composés chimiques, médicaments et produits biologiques. Chaque monographie (dossier) discute d'une simple entité chimique ou d'un groupe de composés étroitement liés.
- RxFiles Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowRxFiles est un outil fournissant aux professionnels de la santé de l'information objective et des données comparatives sur les médicaments au Canada.
- Stahl's essential psychopharmacologyAn online resource based on Dr. Stephen M. Stahl's (University of California San Diego, School of Medicine) books: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology (Stahl Online) and The Prescriber's Guide with added content and functionality.
- AccessSurgery » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowAccess Surgery is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources. The content of this database include: Surgical videos, animations, textbooks and surgical atlas and anatomy.
- AccessMedicine » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowMedical reference textbooks and access to a "Lite" version of McGraw-Hill's USMLE comprehensive, online self-assessment service. Contains thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform.
Note: Don't forget to use the Mobile Apps !! See our page for Mobile Apps for Health Sciences
- GIDEON » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowGIDEON:The Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network is an expert system that helps physicians diagnose infectious diseases (337 recognized) in some 224 countries and stay up to date on the latest trends in epidemiology and treatment.
Nouvelle ressource / New resource
REL fait grâce à la collaboration étudiante - professeur de la Faculté de Médecine de l'Université d'Ottawa // OER produced through student-professor collaboration at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa
El-Hage, J. & Alarcón, E. I. (2025). How to Read a Scientific Paper in Biomedical Sciences. University of Ottawa. CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 http://hdl.handle.net/10393/50115
As the goal of this is to equip students with valuable tools to effectively convey scientific concepts to non-experts and the public, an integral part of the course is that students need to face the challenges of critically analyzing multiple scientific papers.
In this book, we offer four interactive tools to guide and simplify the reading and comprehension of scientific literature. A dedicated repository web page hosts these tools, along with two separate files showcasing real examples of students who used the summary report sheet to build their summaries of two different papers. These examples are compared with summaries generated by ChatGPT using the same sheets.
All documents are available as interactive PDFs and Word files, organized in the order they appear in the book. For the best experience, we recommend opening the PDF versions with a PDF reader such as Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader.
Version en français:
El-Hage, Jinane; Alarcón, Emilio I. (2025) Comment lire un article scientifique en sciences biomédicales
Naviguer dans la littérature scientifique est difficile, en particulier pour les étudiants qui ne sont pas familiers avec les termes techniques, le jargon et le contenu dense. Beaucoup ont du mal à distiller les messages essentiels ou à relier les résultats à des discussions scientifiques plus larges. Au-delà de la complexité inhérente des articles eux-mêmes, le domaine scientifique ne prend souvent pas en compte d'autres défis importants affectant la compréhension.
Dans ce livre, nous proposons quatre outils interactifs pour guider et simplifier la lecture et la compréhension de la littérature scientifique. Une page web dédiée héberge ces outils, ainsi que deux fichiers séparés présentant des exemples réels d'étudiants ayant utilisé la feuille de rapport de résumé pour construire leurs résumés de deux articles différents. Ces exemples sont comparés aux résumés générés par ChatGPT en utilisant les mêmes feuilles.
Tous les documents sont disponibles sous forme de PDF interactifs et de fichiers Word, organisés dans l'ordre où ils apparaissent dans le livre. Pour une meilleure expérience, nous recommandons d'ouvrir les versions PDF avec un lecteur PDF tel qu'Adobe Acrobat ou Adobe Reader.
Resources from Canadian Organizations
- CADTHCADTH is an independent, not-for-profit organization responsible for providing health care decision-makers with objective evidence to help make informed decisions about the optimal use of health technologies, including:drugs, diagnostic tests and medical, dental, and surgical devices and procedures.
- Canadian Drug Product DatabaseIn our drug product database, you will learn how your medication works, when and how you should take your medicine, possible side effects and drug interactions, along with other vital information.
- Drug and Health Product register - Health CanadaFind information on drug product use, safety and common and reported side effects.
- Drug Product Database (DPD)The DPD contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada.