Pharmacy

First Exposure veut être la source d’information canadienne concernant l’exposition aux substances sur la santé reproductive et l’allaitement. Cette ressource bilingue est basée sur des données probantes.

The vision of First Exposure is to be Canada’s trusted bilingual source of evidence-based reproductive and lactation health information on exposures. Our mission is to evaluate and communicate the safety of medication and substance exposures in an accessible way to individuals and communities, so they can make informed choices within their own, unique and culturally safe contexts.

Le Centre IMAGe est un centre d'information destiné aux professionnels de la santé et traitant de l'innocuité et des risques liés aux médicaments durant la grossesse et durant l'allaitement.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced.

e-lactancia is a project of APILAM, Association for Promotion of and cultural and scientific Research into Breastfeeding

Le champ d’activité du CRAT couvre :
- les risques tératogènes ou fœtotoxiques de divers agents en cours de grossesse (médicaments, radiations, virus...)
- les risques d’expositions diverses en cours d’allaitement (médicaments, vaccins, radiations...)
- les répercussions d’expositions paternelles sur une future grossesse
les risques sur la fertilité féminine ou masculine...

MotherToBaby is a service of the non-profit Organization of Teratology Information Specialists, the professional scientific society that is comprised of experts in the field of birth defects prevention.

IABLE is a nonprofit membership organization whose mission is to optimize the promotion and support of breastfeeding for families in the outpatient sector. IABLE is dedicated to building Breastfeeding Knowledgeable Medical Systems.

The goal of the Trash the Pump and Dump is to
1. Explain the true situations when pump and dumping is recommended. (Note, there are very few!)
2. Bust myths regarding contraindications to breastfeeding/providing human milk.

In our drug product database, you will learn how your medication works, when and how you should take your medicine, possible side effects and drug interactions, along with other vital information.

Find information on drug product use, safety and common and reported side effects.

Site created by the US National Library of Medicine. Search by drug name to find links to more information

The DPD contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada.

The Drugs.com Drug Information Database is powered by several independent leading medical-information suppliers, including; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and IBM Watson Micromedex. Individual drug (or drug-class) content compiled by these sources is peer reviewed and delivered by Drugs.com.

The pill-identification tool is under construction. It provides a quick way to identify pill from basic information such as colour, shape, etc. It is being developed by the National Library of Medicine.

DailyMed provides information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). It provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software.

The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

The LiverTox database provides researchers, physicians, and patients with up-to-date and comprehensive information about drug induced liver injury.

This guide is intended to highlight the best free drug information resources on the web. As we begin, our focus is on those resources that we have found the most useful or which contain unique content.

Your resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases

A comprehensive resource offering safety guides for infants, families, patients and seniors, as well as publishing important health news, recalls and safety alerts.

Identify natural health products with an approved licence, report side effects, access regulations and submit a licence application.

Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines from MedlinePlus, the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Read about side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

The database links you to the information from the labels of over 30,000 dietary supplement products in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.

Dietary supplements made from foods, herbs and their constituents are a rapidly growing market sector. Consumers often view food supplements as 'natural' and therefore safe; however, supplements are regulated as foods rather than as pharmaceuticals and so are not as closely monitored as may be necessary.